861808 Ontario Inc. v. Canada (Revenue Agency)

  • Document:
  • Date: 2018

[Indexed as: 861808 Ontario Inc. v. Canada Revenue Agency]

2013 ONCA 604

Court of Appeal for Ontario, Feldman, MacPherson and Epstein JJ.A.

October 3, 2013

Courts — Jurisdiction — Provincial superior courts — Canada Revenue Agency being “federal board, commission or other tribunal” for purposes of s. 18(1) of Federal Courts Act — Superior court having no jurisdiction to issue injunction enjoining CRA from collecting taxes, interest and penalties — Section 18(1) of Act applying to interim injunctions — Federal Courts Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-7, s. 18(1).

In an action in the Superior Court of Justice, the appellant sought an injunction against the respondent Canada Revenue Agency preventing it from collecting the appellant’s unpaid taxes, interest and penalties. The respondent’s motion striking the claim for an injunction on the basis that the Federal Court had exclusive jurisdiction with respect to that claim was granted. The appellant appealed.

Held, the appeal should be dismissed.

The motion judge did not err in finding that the CRA is a “federal board, commission or other tribunal” for the purposes of s. 18(1) of the Federal Courts Act (“FCA”) when exercising powers of tax collection. Section 18(1) of the FCA applies to interim orders such as the interim injunction sought by the appellant. The superior court had no jurisdiction to issue an injunction enjoining the CRA from collecting taxes, interest and penalties from the appellant.

Cases referred to

861808 Ontario Inc. v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2013] O.J. No. 2299, 2013 ONSC 3012, [2013] 5 C.T.C. 249, 228 A.C.W.S. (3d) 646 (S.C.J.); Burkes v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2010] O.J. No. 2877, 2010 ONSC 3485, 2010 D.T.C. 5133, [2010] G.S.T.C. 104, [2010] 6 C.T.C. 295 (S.C.J.) [Leave to appeal refused [2010] O.J. No. 5019, 2010 ONSC 6059, [2011] 2 C.T.C. 40, [2010] G.S.T.C. 176 (Div. Ct.)]; Canada (Attorney General) v. TeleZone Inc., [2010] 3 S.C.R. 585, [2010] S.C.J. No. 62, 2010 SCC 62, 273 O.A.C. 1, 410 N.R. 1, 2011EXP-42, J.E. 2011-18, 56 C.E.L.R. (3d) 1, 327 D.L.R. (4th) 527, 96 C.L.R. (3d) 1; Puttkemery v. Air Canada, [2003] O.J. No. 2686 (Div. Ct.)

Statutes referred to

Federal Courts Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-7, s. 18 [as am.], (1) [as am.], (a)

Appeal from the order of Goldstein J., [2013] O.J. No. 80, 2013 ONSC 152 (S.C.J.) striking a claim for interim injunction.

Jeffrey Radnoff, David Fenig and Kris Gurprasad, for appellant.

Shahana Kar and Angela Shen, for respondent.

BY THE COURT: —

[1] The appellant 861808 Ontario Inc. appeals from the order of Goldstein J. of the Superior Court of Justice dated January 7, 2013, striking para. 2 of the appellant’s statement of claim that sought an injunction against the respondent Canada Revenue Agency (“CRA”) preventing it from collecting the appellant’s unpaid taxes, interest and penalties. The appellant’s primary claim in the action is that an agent of the CRA made an agreement with the appellant to accept $79,000 in full satisfaction of its tax debt, and that the CRA is in breach of that agreement.

[2] CRA brought a motion seeking the striking of the relevant portion of the appellant’s statement of claim based on s. 18(1) of the Federal Courts Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-7 (“FCA”):

18(1) Subject to section 28, the Federal Court has exclusive original jurisdiction

(a) to issue an injunction, writ of certiorari, writ of prohibition, writ of mandamus or writ of quo warranto, or grant declaratory relief, against any federal board, commission or other tribunal; . . .

[3] The motion judge held that “when exercising powers of tax collection the CRA is indisputably a ‘federal board, commission, or other tribunal’”. He also held that both the wording of s. 18(1) of the FCA and the relevant case authorities pointed to an obvious conclusion: the superior court has no jurisdiction to issue an injunction enjoining the CRA from collecting taxes, interest and penalties from the appellant.

[4] In supplementary reasons dated May 23, 2013, the motion judge awarded CRA costs fixed at $40,150.25 [[2013] O.J. No. 2299, 2013 ONSC 3012 (S.C.J.)]. This award included substantial indemnity costs after July 21, 2010.

[5] The appellant appeals these orders on four grounds.

[6] First, and principally, the appellant contends that the motion judge erred by concluding that s. 18 of the FCA applies to interim orders, such as the interim injunction sought by the appellant. The appellant wants the superior court to enjoin the CRA, pending the determination of the appellant’s breach of contract claim against it, from continuing to garnish customer accounts of the appellant to collect taxes the CRA alleges are still owing.

[7] We do not accept this submission. Section 18(1) of the FCA explicitly grants the Federal Court “exclusive original jurisdiction to issue an injunction”. There is nothing ambiguous in this language; it applies to all injunctions, including interim, interlocutory and permanent. Moreover, all of the relevant case authorities support the motion judge’s analysis and conclusion: see Canada (Attorney General) v. TeleZone Inc., [2010] 3 S.C.R. 585, [2010] S.C.J. No. 62, 2010 SCC 62, at para. 52; Puttkemery v. Air Canada, [2003] O.J. No. 2686 (Div. Ct.), at paras. 5-6; and Burkes v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2010] O.J. No. 2877, 2010 ONSC 3485 (S.C.J.), at paras. 9-15.

[8] In TeleZone, Binnie J. dealt with this issue explicitly, at para. 52:

All of the remedies listed in s. 18(1)(a) are traditional administrative law remedies, including the four prerogative writs — certiorari, prohibition, mandamus and quo warranto — and declaratory and injunctive relief in the administrative law context. Section 18 does not include an award of damages. If a claimant seeks compensation, he or she cannot get it on judicial review. By the same token, the plaintiff in a damages action is not entitled to add a supplementary claim for a declaration or injunction to prevent the government from acting on a decision said to be tainted by illegality. That is the domain of the Federal Court.

(Emphasis added)

[9] This passage is conclusive against the appellant’s argument.

[10] Second, the appellant submits that the motion judge erred by concluding that the CRA is a federal board, commission or other tribunal within the meaning of s. 18(1)(a) of the FCA. The appellant’s action against the CRA is framed in contract and tort law, not administrative law and judicial review.

[11] We disagree. As Belobaba J. stated in Burkes, at para. 11:

The respondent Canada Revenue Agency clearly exercises powers of tax collection as conferred by an Act of Parliament and is therefore a federal board, commission or tribunal for the purposes of s. 18.

[12] Third, the appellant contends that the motion judge erred by permitting the return of the motion to strike in the face of Allen J.’s order that CRA could request that the motion be brought back “if circumstances warrant”.

[13] We disagree. The circumstance that warranted bringing back the motion was the Divisional Court’s refusal to grant leave to appeal in Burkes v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2010] O.J. No. 5019, 2010 ONSC 6059 (Div. Ct.). With this decision of a higher court in play, the motion judge was justified in permitting the return of CRA’s motion in this case.

[14] Fourth, the appellant seeks leave to appeal the motion judge’s costs award. The appellant contends that the substantial indemnity component of the award was made in error.

[15] We would not grant leave to appeal. CRA sought costs of just under $60,000. After careful review of the progress of the litigation, lawyers involved for CRA, hourly rates, dockets and offers to settle, the motion judge fixed costs at just over $40,000. Accordingly, even if the appellant were successful on its legal argument, we would not interfere with the costs award he made,

[16] The appeal from the motion judge’s order dated January 7, 2013 is dismissed. Leave to appeal the motion judge’s order dated May 23, 2013 is denied.

[17] The respondent is entitled to its costs of the appeal fixed at $24,000, inclusive of disbursements and HST.

 

Appeal dismissed.

861808 Ontario Inc. c. Canada (Agence du revenu)

  • Dossier :
  • Date : 2017

[Répertorié : 861808 Ontario Inc. c. Agence du revenu du Canada]

2013 ONCA 604

Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, les Feldman, MacPherson et Epstein

3 octobre 2013

Tribunaux — Compétence — Cours supérieures provinciales — Agence du revenu du Canada étant un « office fédéral » pour l’application du par. 18(1) de la Loi sur les cours fédérales — Cour supérieure n’étant pas compétente pour décerner une injonction interdisant à l’ARC de percevoir des impôts, intérêts et pénalités — Paragraphe 18(1) de la Loi s’appliquant aux injonctions provisoires — Loi sur les cours fédérales, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-7, par. 18(1).

Dans le cadre d’une action intentée devant la Cour supérieure de justice, l’appelante a demandé qu’une injonction soit décernée contre l’intimée, l’Agence du revenu du Canada, afin d’empêcher celle-ci de percevoir les impôts, intérêts et pénalités impayés de l’appelante. La Cour supérieure de justice a accueilli la requête de l’intimée visant à annuler la demande d’injonction au motif que la Cour fédérale avait compétence exclusive à l’égard de cette demande. L’appelante a interjeté appel.

Arrêt : L’appel est rejeté.

Le juge des requêtes n’a pas commis d’erreur en décidant que l’ARC est un « office fédéral » pour l’application du par. 18(1) de la Loi sur les cours fédérales (« LCF ») lorsqu’elle exerce ses pouvoirs de perception d’impôts. Le paragraphe 18(1) de la LCF s’applique aux ordonnances provisoires telles que l’injonction provisoire demandée par l’appelante. La cour supérieure n’était pas compétente pour décerner une injonction interdisant à l’ARC de percevoir des impôts, intérêts et pénalités auprès de l’appelante.

Décisions citées

861808 Ontario Inc. v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2013] O.J. No. 2299, 2013 ONSC 3012, [2013] 5 C.T.C. 249, 228 A.C.W.S. (3d) 646 (S.C.J.); Burkes v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2010] O.J. No. 2877, 2010 ONSC 3485, 2010 D.T.C. 5133, [2010] G.S.T.C. 104, [2010] 6 C.T.C. 295 (S.C.J.) [autorisation de pourvoi refusée, [2010] O.J. No. 5019, 2010 ONSC 6059, [2011] 2 C.T.C. 40, [2010] G.S.T.C. 176 (Div. Ct.)]; Canada (Procureur général) c. TeleZone Inc., [2010] 3 R.C.S. 585, [2010] A.C.S. no 62, 2010 CSC 62, 273 O.A.C. 1, 410 N.R. 1, 2011EXP-42, J.E. 2011-18, 56 C.E.L.R. (3d) 1, 327 D.L.R. (4th) 527, 96 C.L.R. (3d) 1; Puttkemery v. Air Canada, [2003] O.J. No. 2686 (Div. Ct.)

Lois citées

Loi sur les cours fédérales, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-7, art. 18 [dans sa version modifiée], par. (1) [dans sa version modifiée], al. a)

Appel interjeté à l’encontre de l’ordonnance du juge Goldstein, [2013] O.J. No. 80, 2013 ONSC 152 (C.S.J.) annulant une demande d’injonction provisoire.

Jeffrey Radnoff, David Fenig et Kris Gurprasad, pour l’appelante.

Shahana Kar et Angela Shen, pour l’intimée.

LA COUR : —

[1] L’appelante, 861808 Ontario Inc., interjette appel de l’ordonnance du juge Goldstein de la Cour supérieure de justice datée du 7 janvier 2013. Il s’agissait d’une ordonnance annulant le par. 2 de la déclaration de l’appelante dans laquelle cette dernière demandait qu’une injonction soit décernée contre l’intimée, l’Agence du revenu du Canada (« ARC »), afin d’empêcher celle-ci de percevoir les impôts, intérêts et pénalités impayés de l’appelante. Dans le cadre de l’action, l’appelante allègue principalement qu’un mandataire de l’ARC a conclu avec l’appelante une entente en vertu de laquelle l’ARC accepte la somme de 79 000 $ en règlement intégral des impôts à payer de l’appelante, et que l’ARC viole cette entente.

[2] L’ARC a présenté une requête en annulation de la partie pertinente de la déclaration de l’appelante fondée sur le par. 18(1) de la Loi sur les cours fédérales, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-7 (« LCF ») :

18(1) Sous réserve de l’article 28, la Cour fédérale a compétence exclusive, en première instance, pour :

a) décerner une injonction, un bref de certiorari, de mandamus, de prohibition ou de quo warranto, ou pour rendre un jugement déclaratoire contre tout office fédéral; […]

[3] Le juge des requêtes a conclu que, [TRADUCTION] « lorsqu’elle exerce ses pouvoirs de perception d’impôts, l’ARC est sans contredit un « office fédéral » ». Il a aussi décidé que tant le libellé du par. 18(1) de la LCF que la jurisprudence pertinente menaient à une conclusion évidente : la cour supérieure n’est pas compétente pour décerner une injonction interdisant à l’ARC de percevoir des impôts, intérêts et pénalités auprès de l’appelante.

[4] Dans des motifs supplémentaires datés du 23 mai 2013, le juge des requêtes a adjugé à l’ARC des dépens fixés à 40 150,25 $ [[2013] O.J. No. 2299, 2013 ONSC 3012 (S.C.J.)]. Ces dépens comprenaient les dépens d’indemnisation substantielle après le 21 juillet 2010.

[5] L’appelante interjette appel des ordonnances susmentionnées, et ce, pour quatre motifs.

[6] Premièrement, et surtout, l’appelante prétend que le juge des requêtes a commis une erreur en concluant que l’art. 18 de la LCF s’applique aux ordonnances provisoires telles que l’injonction provisoire demandée par l’appelante. L’appelante veut que la cour supérieure interdise à l’ARC, en attendant la décision sur l’allégation de violation de contrat faite par l’appelante contre l’ARC, de continuer à saisir les comptes clients de l’appelante pour percevoir les impôts qui, selon l’ARC, restent exigibles.

[7] Nous n’acceptons pas la prétention de l’appelante. Le paragraphe 18(1) de la LCF confère expressément à la Cour fédérale la « compétence exclusive, en première instance, pour […] décerner une injonction ». Cette disposition n’a rien d’ambigu; elle s’applique à toutes les injonctions, y compris les injonctions provisoires, interlocutoires et permanentes. De plus, toute la jurisprudence pertinente appuie l’analyse et la conclusion du juge des requêtes : voir Canada (Procureur général) c. TeleZone Inc., [2010] 3 R.C.S. 585, [2010] A.C.S. no 62, 2010 CSC 62, au par. 52; Puttkemery v. Air Canada, [2003] O.J. No. 2686 (Div. Ct.), aux par. 5 et 6; et Burkes v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2010] O.J. No. 2877, 2010 ONSC 3485 (S.C.J.), aux par. 9-15.

[8] Dans l’arrêt TeleZone, le juge Binnie a traité explicitement de la question, au par. 52 :

Tous les recours énumérés à l’al. 18(1)a) sont des recours classiques du droit administratif, y compris les quatre brefs de prérogative — certiorari, mandamus, prohibition et quo warranto — et les demandes d’injonction et de jugement déclaratoire en droit administratif. L’article 18 ne prévoit pas l’octroi de dommages-intérêts. L’indemnisation n’est pas possible dans le cadre d’une procédure de contrôle judiciaire. De même, on ne peut, dans le cadre d’une action en dommages-intérêts, demander par surcroît un jugement déclaratoire ou une injonction visant à empêcher la mise en œuvre d’une décision administrative prétendument illégale. Pareille demande est du ressort de la Cour fédérale.

(C’est nous qui soulignons.)

[9] L’extrait ci-dessus permet de rejeter de façon concluante l’argument de l’appelante.

[10] Deuxièmement, l’appelante soutient que le juge des requêtes a commis une erreur en concluant que l’ARC est un office fédéral au sens de l’al. 18(1)a) de la LCF. L’action intentée par l’appelante contre l’ARC est fondée sur le droit des contrats et le droit de la responsabilité délictuelle, non pas sur le droit administratif et le contrôle judiciaire.

[11] Nous ne sommes pas d’accord. Comme l’a précisé le juge Belobaba dans l’arrêt Burkes, au par. 11 :

[TRADUCTION] L’intimée, l’Agence du revenu du Canada, exerce clairement les pouvoirs de perception d’impôts qui lui sont conférés par une loi du Parlement et, par conséquent, est un office fédéral pour l’application de l’art. 18.

[12] Troisièmement, l’appelante prétend que le juge des requêtes a commis une erreur en autorisant la présentation de la requête en annulation contrairement à l’ordonnance du juge Allen selon laquelle l’ARC pouvait demander que la requête soit présentée [TRADUCTION] « si les circonstances le justifient ».

[13] Nous ne sommes pas d’accord. La circonstance ayant justifié la présentation de la requête était le refus de la Cour divisionnaire d’accorder l’autorisation d’interjeter appel dans l’affaire Burkes v. Canada (Revenue Agency), [2010] O.J. No. 5019, 2010 ONSC 6059 (Div. Ct.). Cette décision d’une instance supérieure étant en jeu, il était justifié que le juge des requêtes autorise la présentation de la requête de l’ARC en l’espèce.

[14] Quatrièmement, l’appelante demande l’autorisation d’interjeter appel de l’attribution des dépens par le juge des requêtes. L’appelante soutient que l’élément d’indemnisation substantielle des dépens a été accordé par erreur.

[15] Nous sommes d’avis de ne pas accorder l’autorisation d’interjeter appel. L’ARC a demandé des dépens d’un peu moins de 60 000 $. Après un examen sérieux de l’évolution du litige, des avocats ayant travaillé pour l’ARC, des tarifs horaires, des bordereaux et des offres de transaction, le juge des requêtes a fixé les dépens à un peu plus de 40 000 $. Par conséquent, même si l’argument juridique de l’appelante était accepté, nous ne sommes pas d’avis de toucher aux dépens adjugés par le juge des requêtes.

[16] L’appel interjeté à l’encontre de l’ordonnance du juge des requêtes datée du 7 janvier 2013 est rejeté. L’autorisation d’interjeter appel de l’ordonnance du juge des requêtes datée du 23 mai 2013 est refusée.

[17] L’intimée a droit à ses dépens de l’appel, qui sont fixés à 24 000 $, débours et TVH inclus.

Appel rejeté.