Her Majesty the Queen v. D.B.

  • Document:
  • Date: 2018

[Indexed as: R. v. B. (D.)]

 2013 ONCA 691

 Court of Appeal for Ontario, Weiler, Watt and Pepall JJ.A.

 November 14, 2013

 Criminal law — Sentencing — Aboriginal offenders — Forty-year-old first offender pleading guilty to sexual interference — Offence consisting of repeated digital penetration and one act of unprotected sexual intercourse with 14-year-old friend of accused’s daughter — Crown appeal from sentence of eight months’ incarceration allowed — Accused having one aboriginal parent and growing up off-reserve with limited knowledge of aboriginal culture — Sentencing judge failing to tie Gladue factors to accused and offence thereby underemphasizing his moral culpability — Nothing in Gladue report warranting sentence outside normal range — Sentencing judge also failing to appreciate gravity of offence including breach of trust and victim’s particular vulnerability — Crown arguing on appeal that usual range being five to six years — Given that Crown only seeking two to three years at trial, seeking three years on appeal — Although similar offences normally resulting in sentence at mid- to high single digits given Crown’s position, appropriate sentence three years’ imprisonment.

 The accused, who was a married first offender, pleaded guilty to sexual interference. He was 40 years old at the time of the offence and the complainant, a close friend of the accused’s daughter, was 14. The victim was being bullied at school and the accused told her that he had also been bullied and that he could help her deal with it. She initially rebuffed his sexual advances and he threatened suicide. He groomed her over time and she came to feel that they were in a relationship. The offence involved repeated digital penetration of the complainant’s vagina and one act of unprotected sexual intercourse. The victim and her family were greatly affected by the offences. The accused had no criminal record. His mother was aboriginal, but he grew up off-reserve and had limited knowledge of aboriginal culture. The sentencing judge sentenced the accused to eight months’ incarceration. The Crown appealed.

 Held, the appeal should be allowed.

 

The sentencing judge erred in failing to tie the Gladue factors to the accused and the offence. The accused’s circumstances did not diminish his moral culpability. Moreover, the sentencing judge failed to appreciate the gravity of the offence and the accused’s culpability. This was an exploitative, repeated and demeaning series of sexual assaults against a vulnerable 14-year-old by a person in a position of trust. An eight-month sentence could not adequately reflect the principles of denunciation and deterrence. Generally the range of sentence for such offences was the mid- to upper single digits. However, the Crown at trial had only sought a sentence of two to three years and in light of that the Crown sought a three-year sentence on appeal. Given the Crown’s position, the appropriate sentence was three years’ imprisonment, less a credit for time spent in post-conviction custody.

 Cases referred to

 R. D. (D.) (2002), 58 O.R. (3d) 788, [2002] O.J. No. 1061, 157 O.A.C. 323, 163 C.C.C. (3d) 471, 53 W.C.B. (2d) 188 (C.A.); R. v. Gladue, [1999] 1 S.C.R. 688, [1999] S.C.J. No. 19, 171 D.L.R. (4th) 385, 238 N.R. 1, J.E. 99-881, 121 B.C.A.C. 161, 133 C.C.C. (3d) 385, [1999] 2 C.N.L.R. 252, 23 C.R. (5th) 197, 41 W.C.B. (2d) 402; R. v. Ipeelee, [2012] 1 S.C.R. 433, [2012] S.C.J. No. 13, 2012 SCC 13, 428 N.R. 1, 91 C.R. (6th) 1, 318 B.C.A.C. 1, 2012EXP-1208, J.E. 2012-661, 288 O.A.C. 224, EYB 2012-204040, 280 C.C.C. (3d) 265, [2012] 2 C.N.L.R. 218, 99 W.C.B. (2d) 642; R. v. M. (P.), [2002] O.J. No. 644, 155 O.A.C. 242, 53 W.C.B. (2d) 408 (C.A.); R. v. Woodward (2011), 107 O.R. (3d) 81, [2011] O.J. No. 4216, 2011 ONCA 610, 284 O.A.C. 151, 276 C.C.C. (3d) 86, 97 W.C.B. (2d) 665

 Appeal by the Crown from the sentence imposed by George J., [2013] O.J. No. 3338, 2013 ONCJ 389 (C.J.).

 Michelle Campbell, for appellant.

Robert C. Sheppard, for respondent.

[1] Endorsement By the Court: — The Crown seeks leave to appeal the respondent’s eight-month sentence for sexual interference.

[2] The appellant submits that the sentencing judge erred:

(a) by overemphasizing the Gladue [R. v. Gladue, [1999] 1 S.C.R. 688, [1999] S.C.J. No. 19] principles; and

(b) by failing to give proper effect to the principles of denunciation and deterrence resulting in a sentence that is manifestly unfit and outside the appropriate range.

[3] At trial, the appellant requested a sentence in the range of two to three years. While the appellant now submits that the appropriate sentence is in the range of five to six years, in light of its position at trial, the appellant seeks a sentence of three years.

Facts

[4] At the time of the offence, the victim was 14 years of age. She was a close friend of the respondent’s daughter whom she had known since grade four. The victim was being bullied at school. She began to attend at the respondent’s home on a daily basis. The respondent, who was 40 years old at the time, told her that he too had been bullied and could help her deal with it. The two began to exchange text messages. After a few months, the respondent began telling the victim that his sex life with his wife was unsatisfactory. He invited the victim to engage in his sexual fantasies. When the victim was unresponsive, he threatened to kill himself.

[5] While the victim initially resisted the appellant’s advances, he persisted and the victim began to feel that she was in a relationship with him. She would regularly meet him in his truck before and after school. He digitally penetrated the victim without her consent and, after this the respondent routinely digitally penetrated the victim. On one occasion, he had sexual intercourse with her without using a condom. He also penetrated her with a vibrator and placed a ball gag in her mouth.

[6] The police were contacted when the victim’s father discovered some of the text messages on the victim’s cell phone. By this time, the respondent and the victim would communicate upwards of 600 times per day.

[7] The respondent pled guilty to the offence of sexual interference.

[8] The respondent obtained a secondary school diploma. He has worked as a fabricator for the past 12 years. He has no prior criminal record. He has been married for many years and has three children.

[9] The respondent and his mother are members of the Kettle and Stony Point First Nation. She attended a public off-reserve school where she was subject to racism. The respondent’s father is of German descent. The respondent’s parents have been married for over 45 years and continue to live in London where they raised the respondent and his sister. They owned and successfully operated a variety store and a Dairy Queen there. They worked hard and with substantial savings, were able to retire when the respondent was 14 years old. The respondent was disciplined by his father through corporal punishment. The respondent felt that his parents doted on his sister and that he was unloved.

[10] The respondent did not grow up in an Aboriginal community. His father was a disciplinarian who disapproved of any Aboriginal cultural involvement or practices within their home. Accordingly, the respondent’s knowledge of, and participation in, Aboriginal culture is limited. The respondent asserted that his only connection to Aboriginal culture was through regular visits with his maternal grandparents who resided on the reserve. His grandfather died when he was 13 and his grandmother died when he was 30.

[11] The impact of the offence on the victim and her family has been enormous. She had previously been an A student. Her marks fell. She switched schools and lost most of her friends. She commenced self-cutting and was on suicide watch. She suffers frequent panic attacks and has been put on anti-depressants. She has been accused of lying about the offence. Her father admonishes himself for having failed to protect her.

Grounds of Appeal

(1) Did the sentencing judge err in the Gladue analysis by overemphasizing factors that had limited application to this particular accused?

[12] The respondent accepts that the sentencing judge imposed a lesser sentence than he would have if not for the Gladue principles. He submits that there is no way of quantifying the differential and submits that the overall sentence was nonetheless fit.

[13] While the sentencing judge did correctly state the Gladue principles, he failed to “tie them in some way” to the offender and the offence and in so doing, underemphasized the respondent’s moral culpability for this offence. While an Aboriginal offender need not establish a direct causal link between his circumstances and the offence, the Gladue factors need to be tied in some way to the offender and the offence (R. v. Ipeelee, [2012] 1 S.C.R. 433, [2012] S.C.J. No. 13, 2012 SCC 13, at para. 83. See also R. v. Gladue, supra). The rationale for Gladue is that many Aboriginal offenders come from situations of social and economic deprivation with few opportunities for positive development and these circumstances may diminish their moral culpability (R. v. Ipeelee, at para. 73).

[14] In this case the respondent’s circumstances did not diminish his moral culpability. As the Gladue report indicated, the respondent’s knowledge of, and participation in, his Aboriginal culture was limited. He grew up off-reserve and was raised by parents who have been married for over 45 years and who ran a successful business. There was no suggestion of any residential school history within his mother’s family of origin. The respondent never attended a residential school and there is no evidence he experienced any sexual abuse, discrimination, or forced displacement.

[15] In the circumstances, the judge’s emphasis on addressing the impact of residential schools, displacement from communities, and higher incidents of suicide, substance abuse and incarceration among Aboriginal people was misplaced in this case. There was nothing in the Gladue report that would warrant a sentence outside the normal range.

(2) Does the sentence imposed fail to give proper effect to
denunciation and deterrence and result in a sentence outside the range and that is manifestly unfit?

[16] Quite apart from the foregoing, the sentencing judge failed to appreciate the gravity of the offence and the culpability of the offender. This was an exploitative, repeated and demeaning series of sexual assaults against a vulnerable 14 year-old by a person in a position of trust. An eight-month sentence cannot adequately reflect the principles of denunciation and deterrence. The judge appears to have treated the child’s acquiescence as a mitigating factor; he said that she had not been raped. However, a child’s willing participation is not a mitigating factor in circumstances where the respondent made the victim feel that she was in a relationship with him (R. v. M. (P.), [2002] O.J. No. 644, 155 O.A.C. 242 (C.A.)).

[17] Mid-to-upper single digit penitentiary sentences are appropriate where an adult in a position of trust sexually abuses a young child on a regular basis over a substantial period of time (R. v. D. (D.) (2002), 58 O.R. (3d) 788, [2002] O.J. No. 1061 (C.A.), at para. 44). This range may apply even to a single instance of sexual abuse (R. v. Woodward (2011), 107 O.R. (3d) 81, [2011] O.J. No. 4216, 2011 ONCA 610, 284 O.A.C. 151).

[18] The respondent groomed the victim and used emotional blackmail. Not realizing that she was being manipulated by the offender, the complainant was seduced into thinking that she was in a relationship with him. This was not an isolated incident of sexual interference. The first instances were forced. The respondent used a vibrator and a ball gag without the victim’s consent. The abuse escalated over time to include one incident of full unprotected intercourse thereby exposing the victim to the possibility of an unwanted pregnancy and the risk of sexually transmitted disease.

[19] It is of paramount importance that children be protected from seducers and predators through sentences that emphasize the principles of denunciation and deterrence. The sentence is manifestly unfit and an unjustifiable departure from the range.

[20] Under the circumstances, a three-year sentence of incarceration less time spent in post-conviction custody is fit and appropriate. We calculate time spent as amounting to 162 days (June 6, 2013 — November 14, 2013). In giving this sentence, we are not departing from the R. v. D. (D.) range but are giving effect to the range of sentence sought by the appellant. The ancillary orders remain in place.

[21] Leave to appeal sentence is granted, the appeal allowed, and the sentence imposed at trial varied in accordance with these reasons.

 

Appeal allowed.

Sa Majesté la Reine c. D.B., R. c.

  • Dossier :
  • Date : 2017

[Répertorié : R. c. B. (D.)]

2013 ONCA 691

Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, les juges Weiler, Watt et Pepall

14 novembre 2013

 

Droit pénal — Détermination de la peine — Délinquants autochtones — Délinquant primaire de quarante ans plaidant coupable à l’infraction de contacts sexuels — Infraction comportant plusieurs incidents de pénétration digitale et un incident de rapports sexuels non protégés avec l’amie de 14 ans de la fille de l’accusé — Appel de la Couronne à l’encontre de la peine d’emprisonnement de huit mois accueilli — Accusé ayant un parent autochtone et ayant grandi hors réserve avec une connaissance limitée de la culture autochtone — Juge chargé de déterminer la peine n’ayant pas appliqué les facteurs énoncés dans l’arrêt Gladue à l’accusé et à l’infraction et n’ayant donc pas accordé assez d’importance à sa culpabilité morale — Rapport de type Gladue ne justifiant aucunement l’infliction d’une peine située à l’extérieur de la fourchette normale — Juge chargé de déterminer la peine n’ayant également pas su apprécier la gravité de l’infraction, notamment l’abus de confiance et la vulnérabilité particulière de la victime — Couronne soutenant sur appel que la fourchette normale est de cinq ou six ans — Couronne demandant trois ans sur appel, vu qu’elle ne demandait que deux ou trois ans au procès — Bien que des infractions semblables mènent habituellement à l’imposition de peines de cinq à neuf ans, peine d’emprisonnement de trois ans étant appropriée, vu la position de la Couronne.

L’accusé, qui était un délinquant primaire marié, a plaidé coupable à l’infraction de contacts sexuels. Au moment de l’infraction, il avait 40 ans, tandis que la plaignante, une proche amie de la fille de l’accusé, était âgée de 14 ans. La victime faisait l’objet d’intimidation à l’école; l’accusé lui a dit qu’il avait lui aussi été victime d’intimidation et qu’il pourrait l’aider à faire face à la situation. Au départ, elle a refusé ses avances sexuelles, et il a menacé de se suicider. Il l’a préparée au fil du temps et elle a fini par avoir l’impression qu’ils étaient dans une relation. L’infraction a comporté plusieurs incidents de pénétration digitale du vagin de la plaignante, ainsi qu’un incident de rapports sexuels non protégés. La victime et sa famille ont été durement touchées par les infractions. L’accusé n’avait aucun casier judiciaire. Sa mère était autochtone, mais il avait grandi hors réserve et avait une connaissance limitée de la culture autochtone. Le juge chargé de déterminer la peine a infligé une peine d’emprisonnement de huit mois à l’accusé. La Couronne a interjeté appel.

Arrêt : L’appel est accueilli.

Le juge chargé de déterminer la peine a commis une erreur en n’appliquant pas les facteurs énoncés dans l’arrêt Gladue à l’accusé et à l’infraction. Les circonstances dans lesquelles se trouvait l’accusé n’avaient pas pour effet d’atténuer sa culpabilité morale. De plus, le juge chargé de déterminer la peine n’a pas su apprécier la gravité de l’infraction et la culpabilité de l’accusé. Il s’agissait d’une série d’actes d’exploitation sexuelle répétés et dégradants commis contre une personne vulnérable de 14 ans par une personne en position de confiance. Une peine de huit mois ne pouvait adéquatement satisfaire aux principes de la dénonciation et de la dissuasion. La fourchette des peines pour de telles infractions était habituellement de cinq à neuf ans. Cependant, puisque la Couronne n’avait demandé qu’une peine de deux ou trois ans lors du procès, elle a demandé une peine de trois ans sur appel. Vu la position de la Couronne, il convenait d’infliger une peine d’emprisonnement de trois ans, moins un crédit pour le temps passé en détention sous garde après la déclaration de culpabilité.

Décisions citées :

R. v. D. (D.) (2002), 58 O.R. (3d) 788, [2002] O.J. No. 1061, 157 O.A.C. 323, 163 C.C.C. (3d) 471, 53 W.C.B. (2d) 188 (C.A.); R. c. Gladue, [1999] 1 R.C.S. 688, [1999] A.C.S. no 19, 171 D.L.R. (4th) 385, 238 N.R. 1, J.E. 99-881, 121 B.C.A.C. 161, 133 C.C.C. (3d) 385, [1999] 2 C.N.L.R. 252, 23 C.R. (5th) 197, 41 W.C.B. (2d) 402; R. c. Ipeelee, [2012] 1 R.C.S. 433, [2012] A.C.S. no 13, 2012 CSC 13, 428 N.R. 1, 91 C.R. (6th) 1, 318 B.C.A.C. 1, 2012EXP-1208, J.E. 2012-661, 288 O.A.C. 224, EYB 2012-204040, 280 C.C.C. (3d) 265, [2012] 2 C.N.L.R. 218, 99 W.C.B. (2d) 642; R. v. M. (P.), [2002] O.J. No. 644, 155 O.A.C. 242, 53 W.C.B. (2d) 408 (C.A.); R. v. Woodward (2011), 107 O.R. (3d) 81, [2011] O.J. No. 4216, 2011 ONCA 610, 284 O.A.C. 151, 276 C.C.C. (3d) 86, 97 W.C.B. (2d) 665

Appel interjeté par la Couronne à l’encontre de la peine infligée par le juge George, [2013] O.J. No. 3338, 2013 ONCJ 389 (C.J.).

Michelle Campbell, pour l’appelante.

Robert C. Sheppard, pour l’intimé.

[1] Inscription de la Cour : — La Couronne demande l’autorisation d’interjeter appel de la peine de huit mois infligée à l’intimé pour contacts sexuels.

[2] L’appelante soutient que le juge chargé de déterminer la peine a commis une erreur :

a) en accordant trop d’importance aux principes de l’arrêt Gladue [ c. Gladue, [1999] 1 R.C.S. 688, [1999] A.C.S. no 19];

b) en n’appliquant pas convenablement les principes de la dénonciation et de la dissuasion, ce qui a mené à l’infliction d’une peine qui est manifestement inappropriée et située à l’extérieur de la fourchette appropriée.

[3] Au procès, l’appelante a demandé une peine de deux ou trois ans. Bien qu’elle soutienne désormais que la peine appropriée est d’une durée de cinq ou six ans, l’appelante demande une peine de trois ans, étant donné sa position lors du procès.

Faits

[4] Au moment de l’infraction, la victime était âgée de 14 ans. Elle était une proche amie de la fille de l’intimé, qu’elle connaissait depuis la quatrième année. La victime faisait l’objet d’intimidation à l’école. Elle a commencé à se rendre au domicile de l’intimé à chaque jour. L’intimé, qui avait 40 ans à l’époque, lui a dit qu’il avait lui aussi été victime d’intimidation et qu’il pourrait l’aider à faire face à la situation. Les deux ont commencé à échanger des messages textes. Après quelques mois, l’intimé a commencé à dire à la victime que la vie sexuelle qu’il avait avec son épouse ne le satisfaisait pas. Il a invité la victime à prendre part à ses fantasmes sexuels. La victime ne réagissant pas à son invitation, il a menacé de se suicider.

[5] Bien que la victime eût tout d’abord résisté aux avances de l’intimé, celui-ci a persisté et la victime a commencé à avoir l’impression qu’elle était dans une relation avec lui. Elle le rencontrait régulièrement dans son camion avant et après l’école. Il a pénétré digitalement la victime sans son consentement; par la suite, il a continué à le faire régulièrement. Une fois, il a eu des rapports sexuels avec elle, sans condom. Il l’a aussi pénétrée avec un vibromasseur et a placé un bâillon en forme de balle dans sa bouche.

[6] La police a été appelée lorsque le père de la victime a découvert certains des messages textes sur le téléphone cellulaire de la victime. À ce moment-là, l’intimé et la victime communiquaient plus de 600 fois par jour.

[7] L’intimé a plaidé coupable à l’infraction de contacts sexuels.

[8] L’intimé a obtenu un diplôme d’études secondaires. Il travaille comme transformateur depuis 12 ans. Il n’a aucun casier judiciaire. Il est marié depuis plusieurs années et a trois enfants.

[9] L’intimé et sa mère sont membres de la Première Nation de Kettle and Stony Point. Sa mère a fréquenté une école publique hors réserve où elle a été victime de racisme. Le père de l’intimé est d’origine allemande. Les parents de l’intimé sont mariés depuis plus de 45 ans et continuent à vivre à London, où ils ont élevé l’intimé et sa sœur. Ils y possédaient un magasin  populaire et un Dairy Queen, qu’ils ont exploités avec succès. Ils ont travaillé fort et, grâce à des économies importantes, ont pu prendre leur retraite alors que l’intimé avait 14 ans. L’intimé a été discipliné par son père au moyen de punitions corporelles. L’intimé avait l’impression que ses parents adoraient sa sœur et qu’il n’était pas aimé.

[10] L’intimé n’a pas grandi au sein d’une collectivité autochtone. Son père était féru de discipline et s’opposait à toute participation à la culture autochtone et à toute pratique culturelle autochtone à la maison. Par conséquent, la connaissance qu’a l’intimé de la culture autochtone est limitée, tout comme sa participation à cette culture. L’intimé a affirmé que les visites qu’il effectuait régulièrement chez ses grands-parents maternels, qui habitaient sur la réserve, constituaient son seul lien avec la culture autochtone. Son grand-père est décédé alors qu’il avait 13 ans, tandis que sa grand-mère est décédée alors qu’il en avait 30.

[11] L’infraction a eu un impact énorme sur la victime et sa famille. Auparavant, la victime était une excellente élève. Ses notes ont chuté. Elle a changé d’école et a perdu la plupart de ses amis. Elle a commencé à s’automutiler et a été placée en surveillance étroite pour risque de suicide. Elle souffre souvent de crises de panique et s’est vu prescrire des antidépresseurs. Elle a été accusée d’avoir menti au sujet de l’infraction. Son père s’en veut de ne pas avoir su la protéger.

Motifs d’appel

(1) Le juge chargé de déterminer la peine a-t-il commis une erreur dans l’analyse fondée sur l’arrêt Gladue en accordant trop d’importance aux facteurs qui s’appliquaient de façon limitée à l’accusé en l’espèce?

[12] L’intimé reconnaît que le juge chargé de déterminer la peine a infligé une peine moins sévère que celle qu’il aurait imposée n’eussent été les principes de l’arrêt Gladue. Il soutient qu’il est impossible de quantifier l’écart et que la peine globale était tout de même appropriée.

[13] Bien que le juge chargé de déterminer la peine ait correctement énoncé les principes de l’arrêt Gladue, il a omis de [TRADUCTION] « les appliquer d’une manière ou d’une autre » au délinquant et à l’infraction et, par conséquent, n’a pas accordé assez d’importance à la responsabilité morale de l’intimé à l’égard de l’infraction. Bien qu’un délinquant autochtone ne soit pas tenu d’établir un lien de causalité direct entre l’infraction et les circonstances dans lesquelles il se trouve, les facteurs de l’arrêt Gladue doivent s’appliquer d’une manière ou d’une autre au délinquant et à l’infraction (R. c. Ipeelee, [2012] 1 R.C.S. 433, [2012] A.C.S. no 13, 2012 CSC 13, au par. 83. Voir aussi R. c. Gladue, précité). Selon le raisonnement qui sous-tend l’arrêt Gladue, de nombreux délinquants autochtones se sont trouvés placés dans des situations économique et sociale défavorables et confrontés à des possibilités limitées de développement harmonieux, et ces circonstances peuvent atténuer leur culpabilité morale (R. c. Ipeelee, au par. 73).

[14] En l’espèce, les circonstances dans lesquelles se trouvait l’intimé n’avaient pas pour effet d’atténuer sa culpabilité morale. Tel que l’indiquait le rapport de type Gladue, la connaissance qu’avait l’intimé de sa culture autochtone était limitée, tout comme sa participation à cette culture. Il a grandi hors réserve et a été élevé par des parents mariés depuis plus de 45 ans qui ont géré une entreprise prospère. Rien n’indiquait qu’il y aurait eu des antécédents de fréquentation d’un pensionnat dans la famille d’origine de sa mère. L’intimé n’a jamais fréquenté un pensionnat et il n’existe aucune preuve selon laquelle il aurait été victime de violence sexuelle, de discrimination ou de déplacement forcé.

[15] Dans les circonstances, l’accent que le juge a mis sur l’impact des pensionnats, l’éloignement des collectivités et l’incidence plus élevée de suicides, d’abus d’alcool et d’autres drogues et d’incarcération chez les Autochtones était mal placé en l’espèce. Le rapport de type Gladue ne justifiait aucunement l’infliction d’une peine située à l’extérieur de la fourchette normale.

(2) Est-ce que la peine infligée ne donne pas convenablement effet aux principes de la dénonciation et de la dissuasion et mène à l’infliction d’une peine qui est manifestement inappropriée et située à l’extérieur de la fourchette appropriée?

[16] Outre ce qui précède, le juge chargé de déterminer la peine n’a pas su apprécier la gravité de l’infraction et la culpabilité du délinquant. Il s’agissait d’une série d’actes d’exploitation sexuelle répétés et dégradants commis contre une personne vulnérable de 14 ans par une personne en position de confiance. Une peine de huit mois ne peut adéquatement satisfaire aux principes de la dénonciation et de la dissuasion. Le juge semble avoir considéré l’acquiescement de l’enfant comme un facteur atténuant; il a déclaré qu’elle n’avait pas été violée. Cependant, la participation volontaire d’un enfant n’est pas un facteur atténuant dans les cas où l’intimé a donné à la victime l’impression qu’elle était dans une relation avec lui (R. v. M. (P.), [2002] O.J. No. 644, 155 O.A.C. 242 (C.A.)).

[17] Des peines d’emprisonnement dans un pénitencier de cinq à neuf ans sont appropriées lorsqu’un adulte en position de confiance commet des agressions sexuelles contre un jeune enfant régulièrement et sur une longue période (R. v. D. (D.) (2002), 58 O.R. (3d) 788, [2002] O.J. No. 1061 (C.A.), au par. 44). Cette fourchette peut s’appliquer même à un seul incident de violence sexuelle (R. v. Woodward (2011), 107 O.R. (3d) 81, [2011] O.J. No. 4216, 2011 ONCA 610, 284 O.A.C. 151).

[18] L’intimé a préparé la victime et a fait du chantage affectif. Ne se rendant pas compte que le délinquant la manipulait, la plaignante s’est laissée convaincre qu’elle était dans une relation avec lui. Il ne s’agissait pas d’un incident isolé de contacts sexuels. Les premiers incidents ont été forcés. L’intimé a utilisé un vibromasseur et un bâillon sous forme de balle sans le consentement de la victime. Au fil du temps, les actes sont devenus de plus en plus graves; il y a eu un incident de rapports sexuels non protégés, exposant ainsi la victime à la possibilité d’une grossesse non désirée et à un risque de maladie transmissible sexuellement.

[19] Il est de la plus haute importance que les enfants soient protégés contre les séducteurs et les prédateurs au moyen de peines qui mettent l’accent sur les principes de la dénonciation et de la dissuasion. En l’espèce, la peine est manifestement inappropriée et s’écarte de la fourchette de manière injustifiée.

[20] Dans les circonstances, il convient d’infliger une peine d’emprisonnement de trois ans, moins le temps passé en détention sous garde après la déclaration de culpabilité. Selon nos calculs, le temps déjà passé est de 162 jours (du 6 juin 2013 au 14 novembre 2013). En infligeant cette peine, nous ne nous écartons pas de la fourchette énoncée dans l’arrêt R. v. D. (D.), mais nous appliquons la fourchette des peines demandée par l’appelante. Les ordonnances accessoires restent en vigueur.

[21] L’autorisation d’interjeter appel de la peine est accordée, l’appel est accueilli et la peine infligée lors du procès est modifiée conformément aux présents motifs.

 

Appel accueilli.