Napa Valley Private Winery Inc.(2003), 63 O.R. (3d) 636 (C.A.)

  • Document:
  • Date: 2018

Her Majesty the Queen v. Napa Valley Private Winery Inc.

[Indexed as: R. v. Moscuzza]

63 O.R. (3d) 636

[2003] O.J. No. 637

Docket No. C37503

Court of Appeal for Ontario

Carthy, Moldaver and MacPherson JJ.A.

February 27, 2003

 

 

Criminal law — Crown — Bias — Allegation that retainer of lawyer to prosecute charges under Liquor Licence Act by General Counsel to liquor control board compromised independence and objectivity of Crown — Lawyer signing retainer in which he agreed to be governed by any direction he might receive from acting Assistant Deputy Attorney General or designate and to comply with Practices and Procedures mandated by Ontario Crown Policy Manual — Officer of Attorney General subsequently leaving employment with Attorney General and taking up full- time employment with Liquor Control Board while continuing to instruct lawyer — No evidence that lawyer was biased, lacked independence or failed to comply with his obligations as Crown counsel in accordance with his retainer — Crown appeal against order of costs on appeal allowed — Accused’s cross- appeal against dismissal of application for stay of proceedings dismissed — Liquor Licence Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. L.19.

Professions — Barristers and solicitors — Crown counsel — Bias — Appeal court judge erring in concluding that retainer of lawyer to prosecute charges under Liquor Licence Act by General Counsel to Liquor Control Board compromised appearance and objectivity of Crown — No evidence demonstrating that retained counsel did not act in compliance with obligations of counsel for Crown — Appeal court order for costs set aside and conviction restored — Accused’s cross-appeal seeking stay of proceedings dismissed — Liquor Licence Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. L.19.

G, a member of the Ontario bar in private practice, was retained to advise and represent the Crown in connection with an ongoing investigation into the illegal sale of liquor in Ontario by the defendants and others. He was retained by F in her capacity as an officer of the Attorney General, and was bound by a retainer agreement in which he agreed to “be governed by any direction” he might “receive from the acting Assistant Deputy Attorney General or his designate” and to “comply with the Practice and Procedures mandated by the Ontario Crown Policy Manual”. F subsequently left her employment with the Attorney General and took up full-time employment with the Liquor Control Board. The defendants brought an application for a stay of proceedings, arguing that G’s ability to conduct a prosecution fairly and independently was compromised by the facts that his legal fees were being paid by the Liquor Control Board and that he was being supervised by F in her capacity as a full-time officer and employee of the Board. The trial judge dismissed the application and convicted the defendants. The defendant’s appeal was allowed in part. The appeal judge found that there was a loss of independence and objectivity on the part of the prosecution during the course of the proceedings. Although he did not say so expressly, he concluded that this loss of neutrality rendered the prosecution abusive. He held that this was not one of the clearest of cases calling for a stay of proceedings, and instead ordered the Attorney General to pay $25,000 towards the defendants’ costs. The Crown appealed. [page637]

 

Held, the appeal should be allowed.

 

The concerns raised by the appeal judge were speculative and without evidentiary foundation. There was no basis for inferring, let alone concluding, that G did not comply with his obligations as Crown counsel in accordance with the terms of his retainer. That observation held true both during F’s tenure with the office of the Attorney General (when she hired G on behalf of the Attorney General) and thereafter, when she left that position and assumed full-time employment with the Liquor Control Board.

 

Statutes referred to

 

Liquor Licence Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. L.19

 

APPEAL by the Crown from an order of costs of Gans J., [2001] O.J.  No. 4624 (S.C.J.) (addendum to a judgment of Gans J. (2001), 54 O.R. (3d) 459, [2001] O.J. No. 2608 (S.C.J.)) allowing in part an appeal from a decision dismissing an application for a stay of proceedings.

 

Scott C. Hutchinson, for appellant. A.  Edward Tonello, for respondents.

 

[1]  BY THE COURT: — The respondents were convicted by Her Honour Justice R. Shamai on April 25, 2000 of various offences under the Liquor Licence Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. L.19. In the course of the proceedings before Shamai J., the respondents brought two applications to have the proceedings stayed as an abuse of process on account of alleged Crown bias. Shamai J. dismissed both applications and convicted the respondents as charged.

 

[2]  Following their convictions, the respondents appealed to the Superior Court of Justice seeking, among other things, a reversal of Shamai J.’s rulings on the stay applications. Gans J. allowed the appeal in part. He found that there was a loss of independence and objectivity on the part of the prosecution during the course of the proceedings and although he did not say so expressly, he concluded that this loss of neutrality rendered the prosecution abusive.

 

[3]  With respect to remedy, Gans J. was not satisfied that this was one of the clearest of cases calling for a stay of proceedings. He did, however, order that the Attorney General pay $25,000 towards the respondents’ costs. In Gans J.’s opinion, such an award “would go a long way in insuring that retainers of outside counsel are not undertaken by Crown corporations in future without the requisite supervision of the Office of the Attorney General”.

 

[4]  The Crown appeals from the order of Gans J. and seeks to have it overturned. The respondents cross-appeal and seek to [page638] have the remedy ordered by Gans J. varied from an award of costs to a stay of proceedings.

 

[5]  For the brief reasons that follow, we are of the view that the appeal should be allowed, and the order of Gans J. set aside.

 

[6]  The stay applications brought by the respondents centred primarily on the retention of Mr. Gover (a member of the Ontario bar in private practice) “to advise on and represent the Crown” in connection with an ongoing investigation into the illegal sale of liquor in Ontario by the respondents and others. In particular, the respondents alleged that Mr. Gover’s ability to conduct a prosecution fairly and independently was compromised by the fact that his legal fees were being paid for by the Liquor Control Board and he was being supervised by Ms. Fitzpatrick in her capacity as a full-time officer and employee of the Board. With respect to the latter concern, the respondents pointed to the fact that after retaining Mr. Gover in her capacity “as agent acting on behalf of the Attorney General”, Ms. Fitzpatrick left her position of employment with the Attorney General and took up full-time employment with the Liquor Control Board. Thereafter, the respondents allege that Mr. Gover was effectively taking his instructions from and retained by the Board, as opposed to the Attorney General. As indicated, Shamai J. found those allegations to be unfounded. We agree.

 

[7]  Having been retained by the Attorney General to represent the Crown in connection with the investigation and possible prosecution of the respondents and others for illegal liquor sales, Mr. Gover was required, as Crown Counsel, to conduct himself with objectivity and fairness. His commitment to do so is found in the retainer agreement of January 15, 1998 in which Mr. Gover agreed, among other things, to “be governed by any direction” he might “receive from the acting Assistant Deputy Attorney General or his designate” and to “comply with the Practice and Procedures mandated by the Ontario Crown Policy Manual”. As Gans J. observed in his reasons, the preamble to that manual provides that:

Crown counsel play a pivotal role in the criminal justice system. Only Crown counsel empowered to fully and independently exercise their discretion can bring about a fair trial of those accused of an offence and the protection of the many interests of the public.

 

[8]  In her reasons of November 19, 1998 dismissing the respondents’ application for a stay, Shamai J. found that there was no basis to infer, let alone conclude, that Mr. Gover had acted other than in accordance with the terms and conditions of his retainer. In coming to that conclusion, Shamai J. was fully aware of [page639] Ms. Fitzpatrick’s altered job status as of August 1998. In that regard, she made the following observation in her reasons:

The plain language of the letter of retainer covers the necessaries of delegation in virtually the language of the relevant jurisprudence. It covers the eventuality that the law officer of the Crown may not continue to be instructing counsel, and it carefully adverts to the dual aspects of [the] retainer . . .

 

(Emphasis added)

Shamai J. then went on to find that there was “no foundation” to the suggestion that Mr. Gover had acted in contravention of the terms of his retainer.

 

[9]  Shamai J.’s opinion remained the same on the renewed application for a stay of proceedings brought by the respondents on December 6, 1999. In her reasons dated March 20, 2000, Shamai J. found that “none of the circumstances which have been offered as fresh evidence amount to admissible evidence which is, in any way, of probative value or even persuasive with respect to the issues set out as the basis of the application here.”

 

[10]  On appeal, Gans J. took a different view of the matter. At para. 16 of his reasons, he explained the reasoning process that led him to conclude that Shamai J. had erred:

In the first place, I have analyzed the duties, role and obligations of Crown attorneys, generally. I then reviewed the particular retainer to determine whether there was any conflict between theory and reality and if so, to what extent. As a result of this approach, my conclusion on certain of the issues under appeal differs from that of the learned trial judge.

 

[11]  Gans J. then commenced his analysis by observing, correctly, that Crown counsel serve in a quasi-judicial capacity and that when instituting or staying proceedings, they are to demonstrate “independence and arrive at any such decisions objectively, impartially and in an even-handed manner”. He then continued as follows:

The relationship between Ms. Fitzpatrick and Mr. Gover lost the mantle of the Attorney General and the objectivity attendant thereto when she resigned her posting with that office. In the fall of 1998 and thereafter, their relationship can only be construed as a classical solicitor- client relationship where the client (the Board) would have the ultimate decision-making responsibility, which responsibility, by definition, would include the right to continue or stay proceedings. In my view, the term contained in the retainer letter which “required” Mr. Gover to follow the directive of the Acting Deputy Attorney General or his designate was mere window dressing. From a practical point of view, it was of little or no effect.

. . . . .

Because Ms. Fitzpatrick was no longer an officer of the Attorney General, it was safe to conclude that Mr. Gover was arguably no longer acting like other “rent-a-Crowns” who are hired to prosecute cases on an ad hoc basis. He was [page640] then in a position of receiving instructions from one who is no longer bound by the independence and impartiality of the Crown law office. The indifference between winning and losing was no longer a guiding principle. Winning was, presumably, of paramount importance.

. . . . .

In my respectful summation, absent any evidence to the contrary, Justice Shamai erred in concluding that Mr. Gover was still subject to supervision from the office of the Attorney General, in the person of Mr. Segal or his designate. Accordingly, I believe this court could and should conclude that there was, therefore, more than the mere suggestion of overlap between the investigator-client and Crown counsel. This relationship would lead to the unalterable conclusion that the objectivity of Crown counsel would or could be lost.

. . . . .

Having concluded that the principles of independence and objectivity were or may not have been met by the form of retainer, I must now determine what remedy, if any, should be fashioned as a result.

 

[12]  With respect, we are of the view that the concerns raised by Gans J. are speculative and without evidentiary foundation. There is no basis on this record for inferring, let alone concluding, that Mr. Gover did not comply with his obligations as Crown counsel in accordance with the terms of his retainer. That observation holds true both during Ms. Fitzpatrick’s tenure with the office of the Attorney General (when she hired Mr. Gover on behalf of the Attorney General) and thereafter, when she left that position and assumed full- time employment with the Liquor Control Board.

[13]  As indicated, the retainer entered into by Mr. Gover contained a term requiring that he be governed by any direction received from the Acting Assistant Deputy Attorney General or his designate and that he comply with the Practices and Procedures mandated by the Ontario Crown Policy Manual. In her role as trier of fact, Shamai J. found that Mr. Gover complied throughout with the terms and conditions of his retainer. That finding was available to her and in our respectful view, there was no basis for interfering with it on appeal.

 

[14]  Accordingly, we would allow the appeal and set aside Gans J.’s order.

 

Appeal allowed.

Napa Valley Private Winery Inc. (2003), 63 O.R. (3d) 636 (C.A.)

  • Dossier : C37503
  • Date : 2017

 

COUR D’APPEL DE L’ONTARIO

Les juges d’appel CARTHY, MOLDAVER et MacPHERSON.

 

ENTRE :

)

 

 

)

 

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE

)

)

Scott C. Hutchison, pour l’appelante

Appelante

)

)

 

– et –

)

 

 

)

 

NAPA VALLEY PRIVATE WINERY INC., ROBERTO ALBANESE et ANTONIO MURSUILLO

 

)

)

)

)

A. Edward Tonello, pour les intimés

Intimés

)

)

 

 

)

Audience : le 14 février 2002

 

 

 

En appel d’une ordonnance datée du 26 novembre 2001 du juge A. Gans, de la Cour supérieure de justice, accueillant en partie un appel d’une décision datée du 25 avril 2000 de la juge R. Shamai, de la Cour de justice de l’Ontario,.

 

 

LE TRIBUNAL :

[1] Le 25 avril 2000, la juge R. Shamai a reconnu les intimés coupables de plusieurs infractions prévues à la Loi sur les permis d’alcool, L.R.O. 1990, chap. L.19. Dans le cadre de l’instance que présidait la juge Shamai, les intimés ont déposé deux requêtes en sursis d’instance. Suivant les intimés, la Couronne était partiale et, en raison de cette partialité, la poursuite constituait un recours abusif au tribunal. La juge Shamai a rejeté les deux requêtes et a reconnu les intimés coupables des infractions dont ils avaient été accusés.

[2] Condamnés, les intimés ont interjeté appel devant la Cour supérieure de justice. Ils ont notamment demandé l’infirmation des décisions de la juge Shamai sur les requêtes en sursis. Le juge Gans a accueilli l’appel en partie. Il a conclu que la Couronne avait perdu son indépendance et son objectivité au cours de l’instance. De plus, sans l’énoncer expressément; le juge Gans a conclu que cette perte de neutralité avait rendu la poursuite abusive.

[3] La mesure de redressement demandée posait problème. Le juge Gans n’était pas convaincu que, en l’espèce, un sursis d’instance était des plus manifestement indiqués. Malgré cette conclusion, le juge a ordonné au procureur général de défrayer les intimés de leurs dépens à hauteur de 25 000 $. Selon le juge Gans, une telle condamnation [TRADUCTION] « devrait fortement contribuer à assurer que, à l’avenir, les sociétés d’État n’aient pas recours aux services d’avocats de l’externe sans que le bureau du procureur général n’exerce la supervision requise ».

[4] La Couronne interjette appel de la décision du juge Gans et demande qu’elle soit infirmée. Dans un appel incident, les intimés demandent la modification du redressement accordé par le juge Gans. Au lieu d’une adjudication des dépens, les intimés voudraient un sursis d’instance.

[5] Pour les brefs motifs énoncés ci-après, nous sommes d’avis que l’appel devrait être accueilli, et l’ordonnance du juge Gans, annulée.

[6] Les requêtes en sursis déposées par les intimés visaient principalement le fait que les services de Me Gover (un membre du Barreau de l’Ontario qui exerce en pratique privée) avaient été retenus [TRADUCTION] « pour conseiller et représenter la Couronne » en liaison avec une enquête en cours portant sur la vente illégale d’alcool en Ontario par les intimés et par d’autres. Plus particulièrement, les intimés ont allégué que la capacité de Me Gover de mener une poursuite de manière équitable et indépendante était compromise. La raison en aurait été que ses honoraires étaient payés par la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario et qu’il était supervisé par Mme Fitzpatrick, qui agissait à titre d’agente et d’employée à temps plein de la Régie. En ce qui concerne ce dernier point, les intimés soulignent que, après avoir engagé Me Gover en sa qualité de [TRADUCTION] « représentante du procureur général », Mme Fitzpatrick a quitté son poste chez le procureur général et est entrée en fonctions à temps plein à la Régie des alcools. Par la suite, allèguent les intimés, Me Gover a effectivement reçu ses directives de la Régie et agi au service de cet organisme, plutôt que de recevoir ses directives du procureur général et d’agir pour celui-ci. Tel que nous l’avons mentionné, la juge Shamai a jugé que ces allégations n’étaient pas fondées. Nous souscrivons à cette opinion.

[7] Me Gover avait été engagé par le procureur général pour représenter la Couronne en liaison avec l’enquête et les poursuites susceptibles d’être intentées contre les intimés, et contre d’autres personnes ou entreprises, pour vente illégale d’alcool. Dans ces circonstances, Me Gover agissait en qualité d’avocat de la Couronne, et se devait de se conduire de façon objective et équitable. Me Gover s’est engagé à suivre une telle ligne de conduite dans son mandat de représentation du 15 janvier 1998. Me Gover y consent notamment à [TRADUCTION] « être régi par toute directive » qu’il pourrait « recevoir du sous-procureur général adjoint ou de son représentant » ainsi qu’à « se conformer aux pratiques et procédures prescrites par le manuel des lignes directrices de la Couronne de l’Ontario ( Crown Policy Manual ). Tel que le juge Gans l’a noté dans ses motifs, le préambule de ce manuel énonce ce qui suit :

 [TRADUCTION]

L’avocat de la Couronne joue un rôle clé dans le système de justice criminelle. Pour que les accusés puissent subir un procès équitable et que les multiples intérêts du public puissent être sauvegardés, il faut, au départ, que les avocats de la Couronne soient habilités à exercer leur discrétion pleinement et de façon indépendante.

[8] Dans les motifs, en date du 19 novembre 1998, de sa décision rejetant la requête en sursis des intimés, la juge Sharmai a estimé qu’elle ne pouvait inférer, et à plus forte raison conclure, que Me Gover avait enfreint les conditions et stipulations de son mandat. Rien, selon elle, ne justifiait une telle inférence ou conclusion. Au moment où elle a tiré cette conclusion, la juge Shamai était parfaitement consciente que, à partir du mois d’août 1998, Mme Fitzpatrick avait changé d’emploi. La juge Shamai énonce à cet égard la remarque suivante :

 [TRADUCTION]

Rédigée dans un langage clair, et couvrant tous les éléments d’une délégation, la lettre du mandat de représentation reprend, à peu de choses près, les termes mêmes des décisions judiciaires pertinentes. La lettre traite de l’éventualité où l’employé de la Couronne cesse de donner des directives à l’avocat, et elle fait minutieusement ressortir les deux volets du mandat de représentation…[Les italiques sont de nous.]

La juge Shamai a ensuite conclu qu’il n’y avait [TRADUCTION] « aucun fondement » à l’allégation selon laquelle Me Gover avait agi en contravention des stipulations de son mandat.

[9] Saisie d’une nouvelle requête en sursis d’instance, déposée par les intimés le 6 décembre 1999, la juge Shamai n’a pas changé d’avis. Dans ses motifs, datés du 20 mars 2000, la juge Shamai a conclu que, [TRADUCTION] « parmi les faits nouvellement mis en preuve, aucun ne constitue un élément de preuve admissible qui ait quelque valeur probante, ou même persuasive, quant aux questions qui sont présentées comme à la base de la présente requête. »

[10] Dans le cadre de l’appel, le juge Gans a adopté un point de vue différent sur la question. Au paragraphe 16 de ses motifs, il a expliqué le raisonnement qui l’a amené à conclure que la juge Shamai avait erré :

 [TRADUCTION]

… Au départ, j’ai effectué une analyse générale des fonctions, du rôle et des obligations des avocats de la Couronne. Par la suite, j’ai examiné le mandat de représentation comme tel afin de déterminer s’il y avait une contradiction entre la théorie et la réalité et, si oui, jusqu’à quel point. À la suite de ces démarches, et avec déférence, je dois diverger d’avec la juge de première instance quant à certaines questions.

[11] Procédant ensuite à son analyse, le juge Gans observe, à raison, que l’avocat de la Couronne exerce une fonction quasi judiciaire et que, lorsqu’il décide s’il introduit une poursuite ou s’il la suspend, il doit faire preuve [TRADUCTION] « d’indépendance, et en arriver à sa décision de façon objective, impartiale et équitable ». Le juge tient ensuite les propos que voici :

 [TRADUCTION]

Lorsque Mme Fitzpatrick a laissé son poste au bureau du procureur général, sa relation avec Me Gover a quitté l’égide du procureur général et a perdu l’objectivité qui se rattache à son bureau. À partir de l’automne 1998, leur relation doit s’interpréter comme une relation classique client-avocat. Dans un tel cadre, le pouvoir de décision ultime – un pouvoir qui, par définition, comprend le droit de poursuivre ou de suspendre une poursuite – appartient au client (la Régie). Le mandat de représentation [TRADUCTION] « obligeait » certes Me Gover à suivre les directives du sous-procureur général suppléant ou de son représentant; mais, à mon sens, cette stipulation n’était que de la poudre aux yeux. D’un point de vue pratique, elle avait peu d’effet ou n’en avait pas du tout.

Mme Fitzpatrick ayant cessé d’être une employée du procureur général, l’on pouvait valablement soutenir, et raisonnablement conclure, que Me Gover ne se trouvait plus sur le même pied que les [TRADUCTION] « procureurs de la Couronne locateurs de services » qui sont engagés pour mener des poursuites ponctuellement. La situation deMe Gover avait changé, et il pouvait recevoir des directives d’une personne qui n’était plus liée par les devoirs d’indépendance et d’impartialité qui incombent au bureau juridique de la Couronne. Le poursuivant cessait d’être indifférent à l’échec comme à la victoire. Ce principe guide ne s’appliquait plus : gagner, peut-on présumer, revêtait une importance capitale.

… Je résume la position à laquelle, avec déférence, j’en suis arrivé. En l’absence d’éléments de preuve au contraire, la juge Shamai a erré en concluant que Me Gover demeurait sous la supervision du bureau du procureur général, que ce fût par l’entremise de M. Segal ou de son représentant.

En conséquence, j’estime que, devant le rapport entre l’enquêteur-client et l’avocat de la Couronne, le présent tribunal pourrait et devrait conclure que, en l’espèce, il y a lieu à davantage qu’un simple soupçon de recoupement. Cette relation mènerait à la conclusion certaine que l’objectivité de l’avocat de la Couronne serait perdue ou risquerait de l’être.

Je viens de conclure que les principes d’indépendance et d’objectivité n’ont pas été respectés, ou risquent de ne pas avoir été respectés, dans le cadre du mandat de représentation tel qu’il était structuré. Dans la foulée de cette conclusion, je dois déterminer si une mesure de redressement doit être élaborée en l’espèce et, dans l’affirmative, en arrêter la forme.

[12] Avec déférence, nous sommes d’avis que les préoccupations soulevées par le juge Gans sont spéculatives et ne trouvent pas de fondement dans la preuve présentée. Rien dans le présent dossier ne permet d’inférer, encore moins de conclure, que Me Gover ne s’est pas conformé aux obligations incombant à un avocat de la Couronne sous le régime du mandat de représentation. Cette remarque s’applique tant à la période où Mme Fitzpatrick a travaillé au bureau du procureur général (période au cours de laquelle Mme Fitzpatrick a engagé Me Gover au nom du procureur général) que par la suite, après qu’elle a quitté ce poste pour exercer des fonctions à temps plein à la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario.

[13] Comme nous l’avons mentionné, Me Gover avait accepté un mandat de représentation et ce mandat l’obligeait expressément à suivre toutes les directives que lui transmettrait le sous-procureur général adjoint suppléant ou son représentant, ainsi qu’à respecter les pratiques et procédures prévues au manuel ontarien des politiques de la Couronne. Dans l’exercice de son rôle de juge des faits, la Juge Shamai a conclu que, au long de l’exécution de ses fonctions, Me Gover s’était conformé aux stipulations et conditions de son mandat de représentation. La juge Shamai pouvait légitimement tirer une telle conclusion et nous sommes d’avis, avec déférence, qu’il n’y avait pas lieu d’interférer avec cette conclusion dans le cadre de l’appel.

[14] En conséquence, nous accueillons l’appel et nous infirmons l’ordonnance rendue par le juge Gans. L’appel incident est rejeté.

 Signé : « Le juge J.J. Carthy, de la Cour d’appel »

 « Le juge M. J. Moldaver, de la Cour d’appel »

 « Le juge J.C. Macpherson, de la Cour d’appel »

Jugement rendu le 27 février 2002 «JJC»