Paithouski, Re, (1976), 13 O.R. (2e) 359 (H.C.), (1978), 18 O.R. (2e) 385 (C.A.)

  • Document:
  • Date: 2018

Re Paithouski

18 O.R. (2d) 385

ONTARIO

ONTARIO COURT OF APPEAL

HOULDEN, ZUBER AND WEATHERSTON, JJ.A.

16TH JANUARY 1978.

 

 

Wills — Construction — Repugnant gift — Testator giving house “to the use of my … daughter as she may … appoint” with gift over in default to son — Fair reading of will suggesting testator intended to make gift to daughter for life, remainder to such person as she might appoint, with gift over in default to son.

 

[Sanford v. Sanford, [1901] 1 Ch. D. 939; Re Schumacher (1971), 20 D.L.R. (3d) 487, [1941] 4 W.W.R. 644, apld; Thuresson v. Thuresson (1901), 2 O.L.R. 637, refd to]

 

APPEAL from a judgment of Henry, J., 13 O.R. (2d) 359, 71 D.L.R. (3d) 60, construing a will.

 

D. Casey, for appellant.

J. Stefoff, for respondent.

 

The judgment of the Court was delivered by

ZUBER, J.A.:– This is an appeal from a judgment given in Weekly Court following an originating notice of motion asking for the construction of a will and the determination of the rights of the parties.

The facts are as follows: Michael Paithouski, of Sarnia, died on August 5, 1965. During his lifetime he had been the owner of a house at 589 South Vidal St. in Sarnia, which house was the family home of the Paithouski family. It was occupied by Michael Paithouski and also by his daughter, Mary E. Wynne, and her husband, Joseph Earl Wynne.

Michael Paithouski was survived by his son Nicholas and his daughter Mary. His will contained the following paragraph which gives rise to these proceedings:

I give, devise and bequeath my house and lot known as 589 South Vidal Street in the City of Sarnia, together with the household furniture and household contents thereof unto my daughter, Mary E. Wynne, to the use of my said daughter as she may be [sic] deed, mortgage, will or other instrument in writing of [sic] appoint, and in default of such appointment on the death of my said daughter, unto my son, Nicholas J. Paithouski.

The will concluded with a residuary clause which provided that all the rest and residue of the estate must be converted into cash and divided equally between Mary Wynne and Nicholas Paithouski. Nicholas Paithouski was appointed executor of the estate.

After the death of Michael Paithouski, Mary Wynne and her husband continued to occupy the Vidal St. house. Nicholas Paithouski, as executor of his father’s will, retained solicitors and on August 12, 1965, an executor’s deed of the Vidal St. house in favour of Mary E. Wynne was prepared, executed and registered.

Mary Wynne died on May 21, 1970, without having exercised the power of appointment referred to in the will of her father. She was survived by her husband, Joseph Wynne, and he died in May of 1974, leaving a will naming the Lambton Trust Company as executor.

The question that now demands an answer is whether the Vidal St. house is now owned by Nicholas Paithouski or the estate of Joseph Wynne.

There are two preliminary points which can be quickly disposed of. First, there is nothing in the material before us to show a request from Mary Wynne, or concurrence in the deed by her, which would render the executor’s deed an exercise of the power of appointment. Second, it cannot be said that by giving a deed, as executor of the will of Michael Paithouski, Nicholas Paithouski has conveyed away his personal interest in the property.

Mr. Justice Henry, who heard this matter in Weekly Court, was of the opinion that the will conferred an absolute gift of the property on Mary Wynne and, therefore, the words dealing with the power of appointment were inconsistent with the absolute gift and void. He concluded, as a result, that the property passed to the Lambton Trust Company as executor of the estate of Joseph     Wynne.

With great respect, I do not agree. I find considerable assistance in the approach taken in a similar case by Joyce, J., in Sanford v. Sanford, [1901] 1 Ch.D. 939. Rather than quote from that judgment, I shall simply attempt to use the same reasoning.

In his will, Michael Paithouski obviously intended to accomplish either one of two objectives, namely:

(1)  to make an absolute gift of the Vidal St. house to his daughter; or (2)  to make a gift of the Vidal St. property to his daughter for life with the remainder to such person as his daughter might appoint and, failing an appointment, to his son Nicholas.

If the testator intended only an absolute gift to his daughter (which object can be simply and briefly stated) one is prompted to ask what then is the purpose of the complex but admittedly poorly drafted language respecting uses and a power of appointment? In my opinion, a fair reading of the whole paragraph clearly indicates that the testator intended to accomplish the second objective.

I recognize the principle that, whatever the wishes of the testator may be, he cannot accomplish the impossible and if, in fact, he has made an absolute gift, he cannot take it away. But this is not such a case. In devising the use to his daughter he has not clearly exhausted the use. The operative words are simply “to the use of my daughter as she may …”. It is significant that the clause does not say “to the use of my daughter and her heirs” or “to the use of my daughter forever”. It is open to a Court to interpret this clause as meaning “to the use of my daughter for life” and then “to such uses as she may by will or deed appoint”, etc., and thereby give effect to the clear intention of the testator.

I find support for this view in the words of Dickson, J.A. (as he then was), in Re Schumacher (1971), 20 D.L.R. (3d) 487 at p. 494, [1971] 4 W.W.R. 644:

It seems to me that unless there is an an obvious and clear conflict created by two provisions of a will the Court should not be alert to frustrate the expressed intention of a testator by seeing repugnancy where none truly exists.

This interpretation of the will, coupled with the fact that the power of appointment was not exercised, leads to the conclusion that the property in question passes to the son Nicholas.

Having reached this conclusion, it is unnecessary to determine whether or not the language that gives rise to the difficulty in this case may, in fact, have created a shifting use (cf. Thuresson v. Thuresson (1901), 2 O.L.R. 637). In the result, the appeal is allowed, the judgment of the Court below is set aside and the question asked will be answered as follows: Nicholas Paithouski is the owner of the property in question, and the estate of Joseph Earl Wynne has no interest in the said property.

The next problem is the question of costs. We are here concerned with the estate of Michael Paithouski. The motion was initiated by his son, Nicholas Paithouski, in his personal capacity, seeking the construction of the will and the determination of the rights of the parties. The Lambton Trust Company entered this contest as an adversary on behalf of the beneficiaries of the estate of Joseph Wynne. As a result, the appellant Nicholas Paithouski is entitled to his costs against the Lambton Trust Company of the motion and of this appeal.

Appeal allowed.

Paithouski, Re, (1976), 13 O.R. (2d) 359 (H.C.), (1978), 18 O.R. (2d) 385 (C.A.)

  • Dossier :
  • Date : 2017

Re Paithouski

18 O.R. (2d) 385

ONTARIO

 

ONTARIO

COUR D’APPEL

LES JUGES D’APPEL

HOULDEN, ZUBER ET

WEATHERSON

LE 16 JANVIER 1978

 

Testaments — Interprétation — Leg incompatible — Testateur léguant une maison « to the use of my […] daughter as she may […] appoint » ([TRADUCTION] « à l’usage de ma fille, usage qu’elle pourra …désigner »), le legs revenant au fils en l’absence de désignation — Lecture objective du testament suggérant que le testateur voulait donner le bien à sa fille sa vie durant, que le résidu serait remis à la personne que sa fille désignerait et que, en l’absence d’une telle désignation, ce résidu appartiendrait au fils.

 

APPEL d’un jugement du juge Henry, 13 O.R. (2d) 359, 71 D.L.R. (3d) 60, interprétant un testament.

 

 

 

Le jugement de la Cour est rendu par

 

LE JUGE D’APPEL ZUBER : — La présente est un appel d’un jugement rendu par la cour des sessions hebdomadaires relativement à un avis de requête introductive d’instance. Cet avis de requête visait à faire interpréter un testament et à déterminer les droits des parties.

 

Les faits sont les suivants. Michael Paithouski, de Sarnia, est décédé le 5 août 1965. Au cours de sa vie, il avait été propriétaire d’une maison située au 589, rue South Vidal, à Sarnia, maison qui était la résidence familiale de la famille Paithousky. Y habitaient Michael Paithousky, sa fille Mary E. Wynne et le mari de cette dernière, Joseph Earl Wynne.

 

Mary Wynne et Nicholas Paithousky, les enfants de Michael Paithousky, ont survécu à leur père. C’est dans son testament que se trouvait la clause ayant donné naissance au litige. Le paragraphe pertinent se lit comme suit :

 

I give, devise and bequeath my house and lot known as 589 South Vidal Street in the City of Sarnia, together with the household furniture and household contents thereof unto my daughter, Mary E. Wynne, to the use of my said daughter as she may be [sic] deed, mortgage, will or other instrument in writing of [sic] appoint, and in default of such appointment on the death of my said daughter, unto my son, Nicholas J. Paithouski.

 

[TRADUCTION]

 

Je lègue ma maison et mon lot situés au 589 rue South Vidal dans la municipalité de Sarnia, y compris les articles ménagers et le mobilier de cette maison, à ma fille, Mary E. Wynne, à l’usage de ma dite fille, usage qu’elle pourra être [sic] acte scellé, hypothèque, testament ou toute autre forme d’instrument écrit de [sic] désigner. Et, en l’absence d’une telle désignation en date de la mort de ma fille, je lègue le tout à mon fils, Nicholas J. Paithousky.

 

Le testament se concluait par une clause relative au reliquat. Suivant cette clause, le reliquat de la succession devait être converti en espèces et divisé également entre Mary Wynne et Nicholas Paithousky. Nicholas Paithousky a été nommé exécuteur testamentaire.

 

Après le décès de Michael Paithousky, Mary Wynne et son mari ont continué à habiter la maison de la rue South Vidal. Nicholas Paithousky, en tant qu’exécuteur du testament de son père, a retenu les services d’un avocat. Le 12 août 1965, un acte d’exécuteur visant le transfert de la maison de la rue South Vidal à Mary E. Wynne a été préparé, signé et enregistré.

 

Mary Wynne est décédée le 21 mai 1970, sans avoir exercé le pouvoir de désignation conféré par le testament de son père. Son mari lui a survécu et est décédé en mai 1974. Dans son testament, Joseph Wynne a désigné la Lambdon Trust Company comme exécutrice testamentaire.

 

La question qu’il faut maintenant trancher est de savoir qui, de Nicholas Paithousky ou de la succession de Joseph Wynne, est propriétaire de la maison de la rue South Vidal.

 

Deux questions préliminaires peuvent être tranchées rapidement. Premièrement, rien dans la preuve présentée ne permet de découvrir une demande de Mary Wynne, ou un assentiment de sa part dans l’acte d’exécuteur, qui ferait de l’acte d’exécuteur un exercice du pouvoir de désignation. Deuxièmement, il est faux de prétendre que, en passant un acte à titre d’exécuteur du testament de Michael Paithousky, Nicholas Paithousky a transféré son intérêt personnel dans la propriété.

 

Selon M. le juge Henry, qui a entendu l’affaire en cour des sessions hebdomadaires, le testament créait un legs absolu de la propriété à Mary Wynne, et les mots traitant du pouvoir de désignation étaient incompatibles avec le caractère absolu du legs, et donc nuls. Le juge a ainsi conclu que la propriété était passée à la Lambdon Trust Company, en sa qualité d’exécutrice testamentaire de Joseph Wynne.

 

En toute déférence, je ne suis pas d’accord. Je trouve d’un grand secours l’approche adoptée par le juge Joyce dans Sanford v. Sanford, [1901] 1 Ch.D. 939, une affaire similaire. Au lieu de citer un passage de ce jugement, je tenterai d’en employer le raisonnement.

 

Il est évident que, en testant, Michael Paithousky visait à atteindre l’un ou l’autre des deux objectifs suivants :

 

(1) Faire un don absolu de la maison de la rue South Vidal à sa fille;

 

(2) Faire don de la propriété de la rue South Vidal à sa fille durant la vie de celle-ci, le résidu allant, après la mort de sa fille, à la personne qu’elle aurait désignée, ou, en l’absence d’une telle désignation, à son fils Nicholas.

 

Le postulat selon lequel le testateur souhaitait faire un don absolu à sa fille — une disposition qui se serait prêtée à un libellé simple et bref — se heurte à un écueil : comment alors expliquer la formulation complexe, mais sans conteste déficiente, de la clause traitant du pouvoir de désignation? À mon avis, une lecture objective de l’ensemble du paragraphe révèle clairement que le testateur visait le second objectif.

 

Je souscris au principe que, quelle que soit sa volonté, le testateur ne peut accomplir l’impossible et que si, en fait, il a fait un don absolu, il ne peut reprendre ce qu’il a donné. Cela dit, tel n’est pas le cas en l’espèce. Lorsqu’il a légué l’usage à sa fille, le testateur n’a pas entièrement disposé de l’usage du bien. Les termes performatifs sont simplement « to the use of my daughter as she may […] » ([TRADUCTION] « à l’usage de ma fille, usage qu’elle pourra […] ». Il est significatif que cette clause n’ait pas la forme « to the use of my daughter and her heirs » ([TRADUCTION] « à l’usage de ma fille et à celui de ses héritiers ») ou « to the use of mydaughter forever » ([TRADUCTION] « à l’usage de ma fille à tout jamais »). La Cour est libre d’interpréter cette clause comme signifiant « to the use of my daughter for life » ([TRADUCTION] « à l’usage de ma fille sa vie durant ») et ensuite « to such uses as she mayby will or deed appoint » ([TRADUCTION] « aux usages qu’elle pourra désigner par acte scellé ou testament », etc., et, de la sorte, de donner effet à ce qui est clairement l’intention du testateur.

 

Mon point de vue trouve appui dans les propos tenus par le juge d’appel Dickson (c’était alors son titre) dans Re Schumacher (1971), 20 D.L.R. (3d) 487, à la p. 494, [1971] 4 W.W.R. 644 :

 

[TRADUCTION]

 

Il me semble qu’en l’absence d’un conflit clair et évident entre deux clauses testamentaires, la Cour ne devrait pas contrecarrer l’intention exprimée par le testateur en voyant des incompatibilités là où il n’y en a pas.

 

Conjuguée au non-exercice du pouvoir de désignation, cette interprétation du testament permet de conclure que la propriété en question revient au fils, Nicholas.

 

Maintenant que je suis parvenu à cette conclusion, il n’est pas utile que je détermine si la formulation ayant causé problème en l’espèce a, en fait, créé un usage mouvant (voir Thuresson v. Thuresson (1901), 2 O.L.R. 637). Par conséquent, l’appel est accueilli, le jugement du tribunal d’instance inférieure est annulé, et la réponse donnée à la question en litige est la suivante : Nicholas Paithousky est le propriétaire de la propriété en litige, et la succession de Joseph Earl Wynne ne détient aucun intérêt dans cette propriété.

 

Il reste à régler la question des dépens. Nous nous penchons, en l’espèce, sur la succession de Michael Paithousky. La motion a été déposée personnellement par son fils, Nicholas Paithousky, et elle visait à obtenir l’interprétation du testament et la détermination des droits des parties. Agissant au nom des bénéficiaires de la succession de Joseph Wynne, la Lambdon Trust Company s’est présentée comme l’adversaire aux fins de la motion. En conséquence, l’appelant, Nicholas Paithousky, a droit aux dépens qu’il a engagés pour la motion et le présent appel, à l’encontre de la Lambdon Trust Company.

 

Appel accueilli.