St. Lewis v. Rancourt; University of Ottawa, Non-party Participant

  • Document:
  • Date: 2018

[Indexed as: St. Lewis v. Rancourt]

Superior Court of Justice, R. Smith J.

May 9, 2012

Civil procedure — Motions — Cross-examination on affidavits — Defendant seeking to bring motion to allow members of public to attend cross-examinations on affidavits that were filed in his champerty motion in libel action — Case management judge refusing to allow defendant to bring open court motion on basis that open court principle does not apply to cross-examinations on affidavits — Defendant’s application for leave to appeal dismissed — Defendant not identifying any conflicting decision and no reason existing to doubt correctness of decision.

The plaintiff, a University of Ottawa professor, was suing the defendant for libel. The University of Ottawa was paying her legal fees. The defendant alleged that that amounted to champerty. The case management judge refused to allow the defendant to bring a motion to allow members of the public to attend the cross-examinations on affidavits that were filed in his champerty motion, holding that the open court principle is not applicable to cross-examinations on affidavits. The defendant applied for leave to appeal that decision.

Held, the application should be dismissed.

The decision relied on by the defendant did not amount to a conflicting decision for the purpose of rule 62.02(4)(a) of the Rules of Civil Procedure, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 194 as it was a decision of a case conference judge in a family law proceeding. There was no reason to doubt the correctness of the decision to refuse to allow the defendant to bring the open court motion. That issue had already been decided by a master in these proceedings, and the defendant had not appealed that decision. The defendant had not been denied procedural fairness. Moreover, an examiner’s office is not a public court, and allowing any member of the public to attend cross-examinations on affidavits in a civil dispute between private parties is unnecessary and unworkable.

R.v. Gordon, [1998] O.J. No. 4043, 79 O.T.C. 161, 130 C.C.C. (3d) 129, 56 C.R.R. (2d) 285, 39 W.C.B. (2d) 531 (Gen. Div.), apld

Lower v. Stasiuk, [2006] B.C.J. No. 1257, 2006 BCSC 864, 150 A.C.W.S. (3d) 1077, consd

Other cases referred to

Canadian Broadcasting Corp. v. New Brunswick (Attorney General), [1996] 3 S.C.R. 480, [1996] S.C.J. No. 38, 139 D.L.R. (4th) 385, 203 N.R. 169, 182 N.B.R. (2d) 81, 110 C.C.C. (3d) 193, 2 C.R. (5th) 1, 39 C.R.R. (2d) 189, 66 A.C.W.S. (3d) 444, 32 W.C.B. (2d) 273; St. Lewis v. Rancourt, [2011] O.J. No. 4392, 2011 ONSC 5923 (S.C.J.)

Rules and regulations referred to

Rules of Civil Procedure, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 194, rule 62.02(4), (a), (b)

Authorities referred to

Bryant, Alan W., Sidney N. Lederman and John Sopinka, The Law of Evidence in Canada, 3rd ed. (Markham, Ont.: Butterworths, 1992)

Application for leave to appeal.

Richard G. Dearden, for plaintiff.

Denis Rancourt, for defendant.

Peter K. Doody, for University of Ottawa.

[1] R. Smith J.: — Denis Rancourt (“Rancourt”) is a former professor at the University of Ottawa who publishes a blog. He is being sued by the plaintiff, Joanne St. Lewis (“St. Lewis”), for libel for statements he made in his blog, criticizing the University of Ottawa.

[2] St. Lewis is also a professor at the University of Ottawa who prepared a report which concluded that there was no systemic racism in the University of Ottawa’s treatment of visible minority students. Her legal fees for her libel action against Rancourt are being paid by the University of Ottawa (“University”), which Rancourt alleges constitutes champerty.

[3] Rancourt seeks leave to appeal the decision of Beaudoin J., acting as a case management judge, wherein he refused to allow him to bring a motion (the open court motion) to allow members of the public to attend the cross-examinations on affidavits that were filed in his champerty motion.

[4] In his oral reasons, Beaudoin J. refused to allow Rancourt to bring a motion to permit members of the public to attend the cross-examination on affidavits because he held that the open court principle was not applicable to “cross-examinations or examinations for discovery that are out of court”. He further adopted the reasons of Master MacLeod, who came to the same conclusion.

[5] In his written endorsement dated February 8, 2012, at para. 3, Beaudoin J. held that the open court principle does not apply to out of court examinations and also stated that the issue had been specifically decided in Master MacLeod’s order of October 6, 2011 [[2011] O.J. No. 4392, 2011 ONSC 5923 (S.C.J.)].

[6] Rancourt submits that Beaudoin J. erred in the following respects:

(a) he misdirected himself and mistakenly believed that the open court motion was to apply to examinations for discovery as well as cross-examinations on the affidavits. In his motion, Rancourt only sought to allow members of the public to attend the cross-examinations on the affidavits;

(b) he lacked jurisdiction at a case conference to refuse to allow Rancourt to bring his open court motion as it was a substantial issue and not a procedural matter; and

(c) Rancourt was denied natural justice and was not accorded procedural fairness as he was prevented from fully arguing his open court motion.

[7] St. Lewis and the University submit that Rancourt has not met the test to obtain leave to appeal. They further submit that there is no reason to doubt the correctness of Beaudoin J.’s decision because the same issue had already been decided by Master MacLeod and, as such, the principles of res judicata, abuse of process and collateral attack apply.

[8] St. Lewis further submits that the principle of res judicata is a rule of evidence and not a substantive issue and, as such, Beaudoin J. had jurisdiction to apply the doctrine of res judicata at a case conference. She further argues that the case management judge had inherent jurisdiction to decide the procedure to be followed in the action, including preventing Rancourt from bringing a motion on an issue that had already been decided, where no appeal had been taken from Master MacLeod’s decision.

[9] St. Lewis also argues that it would be an impermissible collateral attack on Master MacLeod’s order of October 6, 2011 to allow Rancourt to bring a motion and argue that members of the public are entitled to be present at cross-examinations as he had previously ruled as follows:

  1. No one but the witness, the parties, their legal counsel and the court reporter may be present at the cross-examinations unless otherwise agreed to by the parties.

[10] St. Lewis finally submits that Beaudoin J. correctly applied this doctrine of res judicata, abuse of process and collateral attack and, as such, there was no procedural unfairness and no denial of natural justice to Mr. Rancourt.

Analysis

[11] The test to obtain leave to appeal is set out in rule 62.02(4)(a) and (b) [of the Rules of Civil Procedure, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 194]:

62.02(4)(a) there is a conflicting decision by another judge or court in Ontario or elsewhere on the matter involved in the proposed appeal and it is, in the opinion of the judge hearing the motion, desirable that leave to appeal be granted; or

(b) there appears to the judge hearing the motion good reason to doubt the correctness of the order in question and the proposed appeal involves matters of such importance that, in his or her opinion, leave to appeal should be granted.

(a) Conflicting decision and desirable that leave be granted

[12] Rancourt relies on the decision of Lower v. Stasiuk, [2006] B.C.J. No. 1257, 2006 BCSC 864, at para. 24, as a conflicting decision by another judge. In Lower, supra, the case conference judge had decided a contested substantive issue at a family case conference. The decision was made without admissible evidence on a substantive issue, namely, whether a material change of circumstances had been proven by one party. On appeal, the case conference judge’s decision was overturned.

[13] The Lower case was a family proceeding under the British Columbia Family Rules. The purpose of the case conference in a family proceeding is “an informal hearing intended to promote resolution of issues by discussion and agreement”. A case management conference in a civil proceeding does not have the same primary purpose as a family case conference, namely, an attempt to resolve issues at an early stage to avoid further litigation. A civil case conference attempts to manage the ongoing litigation in a just, cost-effective and timely manner. As a result, I do not find that there is a conflicting decision of another judge that has been identified by Rancourt.

[14] I am also not persuaded that it is desirable that leave to appeal be granted as there is no conflicting principle, but rather a decision of a case management judge in a civil proceeding that was attempting to manage the litigation to move it forward in the most expeditious, just and least expensive manner possible by preventing Rancourt from rearguing a motion on an issue that had previously been decided in the same action by Master MacLeod.

(b) Reason to doubt correctness and matter of such importance that leave should be granted

[15] I do not find that there is any reason to doubt the correctness of Beaudoin J.’s decision to refuse to allow Rancourt to bring a motion to allow members of the public to attend the cross-examinations on the affidavits for the following reasons:

(a) this same issue had already been decided by Master MacLeod between the same parties, in the same action, and Mr. Rancourt did not appeal that decision;

(b) a case management judge in a civil proceeding may make procedural rulings, including preventing a party from bringing a motion to determine an issue that has already been decided. The application of the doctrines of abuse of process and collateral attack on an existing final order are legal principles that a case management judge may apply to ensure the just, expeditious and least expensive manner of proceeding. The doctrine of abuse of process is a flexible doctrine which allows the court to prevent the misuse of its process in a way that would be manifestly unfair to a party or would in some way bring the administration of justice into disrepute.

(c) In the text The Law of Evidence in  Canada, 3rd. ed. (Markham, Ont.: Butterworths, 1992) by Bryant, Lederman and Sopinka, at para. 1954, the author states that res judicata is a rule of evidence and not a rule of substantive law:

Although the principle of res judicata is sometimes referred to as a rule of substantive law, the better view is that it is a rule of evidence. Essentially, the party against whom the suit or issue was decided is estopped from proffering evidence to contradict that result.

(d) Mr. Rancourt was not denied procedural fairness as he had previously sought permission to allow members of the public to attend at the cross-examinations on the affidavits before Master MacLeod and his request was denied. As a result, there was also no denial of natural justice.

(e) (i) In the criminal case in R. v. Gordon, [1998] O.J. No. 4043, 130 C.C.C. (3d) 129 (Gen. Div.), at para. 108, Hill J. held that cross-examination on affidavits before an examiner was not subject to the open court principle.

(ii) In Gordon, supra, Hill J. followed the reasoning of the Supreme Court decision in Canadian Broadcasting Corp. v. New Brunswick (Attorney General), [1996] 3 S.C.R. 480, [1996] S.C.J. No. 38, 110 C.C.C. (3d) 193.

At para. 108, Hill J. stated as follows:

. . . it may be that the open court philosophy protected under s. 2(b) of the Charter does not extend to every venue in which criminal law is administered — while it has long extended to courts themselves other considerations may apply to sites not historically considered to be public arenas. Imposing an open court imperative on the examiner’s environment, relating to cross-examination on affidavits filed in criminal proceedings, is unnecessary and unworkable. The record dealt with before the examiner, the affidavit and the cross-examination, are filed with the court and used in the pre-trial motion argued in open court.

(Emphasis added)

(iii) A number of other authorities have also held that an examiner’s office is not a public court. R. v. Gordon, supra, at para. 104:

Several authorities have taken the position that an examiner’s office is not a public court and that an examiner may admit or exclude persons according to the circumstances of each case and according to what the examiner considers best calculated to secure the ends of justice: Smith et al. v. Walnut Dairy Ltd. et al., [1945] O.W.N. 801 (Master Conant) at 802 (affirmed [1945] O.W.N. 803 (H.C.) at 803 per Hope J.); Baywood Paper Products Ltd. v. Paymaster Cheque-Writers (Canada) Ltd. (1986), 57 O.R. (2d) 229 (Dist. Ct.) at 233, 239 per Borins, D.J.C. (as he then was); Abulnar v. Varity Corp. (1989), 70 O.R. (2d) 168 (H.C.) at 170 per Henry J.

(iv) I agree with the above statements made in R. v. Gordon, supra, that an examiner’s office is not a public court and that allowing any member of the public to attend cross-examinations on affidavits at an examiner’s or solicitor’s office in a civil dispute between private parties is unnecessary and unworkable.

[16] For the above reasons, I conclude that there was no reason to doubt the correctness of either Beaudoin J.’s decision or of that of Master MacLeod. Given my finding on the first part of this test in rule 62.02(4)(b), it is not necessary to deal with the issue of whether the matters raised are of such an importance that leave should be granted.

Disposition

[17] Mr. Rancourt’s motion for leave to appeal Beaudoin J.’s decision is therefore dismissed.

[18] The plaintiff and the University may make brief submissions on costs within ten days of the release of these reasons for decision, Mr. Rancourt shall have ten days to respond and the plaintiff and the University shall have seven days to reply.

Application dismissed.

St. Lewis c. Rancourt; Université d’Ottawa, tierce partie

  • Dossier :
  • Date : 2017

[Répertorié : St. Lewis c. Rancourt]

Cour supérieure de justice, le juge R. Smith

Le 9 mai 2012

Procédure civile – Motions – Contre-interrogatoire sur affidavits – Le défendeur cherche à déposer une motion visant à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits déposés dans le cadre de sa motion liée à la champartie au regard de son action pour libelle – Le juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance refuse de permettre au défendeur de présenter une motion visant à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires au motif que le principe de la publicité des instances judiciaires ne s’applique pas aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits – La motion en autorisation d’appel du défendeur est rejetée – Le défendeur n’a pas démontré qu’un autre juge a rendu une décision incompatible, et il n’existe aucun motif de mettre en doute le bien-fondé de la décision.

La demanderesse, professeur à l’Université d’Ottawa, a intenté une action pour libelle contre le défendeur. L’Université d’Ottawa a payé les honoraires d’avocat de la demanderesse. Le défendeur a soutenu que cette pratique constituait de la champartie. Le juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance a interdit au défendeur de présenter une motion visant à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits déposés dans le cadre de sa motion liée à la champartie, au motif que le principe de la publicité des instances judiciaires ne s’applique pas aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits. Le défendeur a présenté une motion en autorisation d’appel de cette décision.

Décision : La motion en autorisation d’appel est rejetée.

La décision invoquée par le défendeur ne représentait pas une décision incompatible pour l’application de l’alinéa 62.02(4)a) des Règles de procédure civile, R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 194, étant donné qu’il s’agissait d’une décision d’un juge chargé de la conférence relative à la cause dans une instance portant sur le droit de la famille. Il n’existait aucun motif de mettre en doute le bien-fondé de la décision de refuser de permettre au défendeur de présenter sa motion sur la publicité des instances judiciaires. Cette même question avait préalablement été tranchée par un protonotaire dans cette instance, et le défendeur  n’a pas interjeté appel de cette décision. Le défendeur n’a pas été privé de son droit à l’équité procédurale. En outre, le bureau de l’auditeur n’est pas un lieu public d’audience, et permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits dans le cadre d’un litige civil entre des parties privées est inutile et impraticable.

R. v. Gordon, [1998] O.J. no4043, 79 O.T.C. 161, 130 C.C.C. (3d) 129, 56 C.R.R. (2d) 285, 39 W.C.B. (2d) 531 (Div. gén.), décision appliquée

Lower v. Stasiuk, [2006] B.C.J. no 1257, 2006 BCSC 864, 150 A.C.W.S. (3d) 1077, décision examinée

Autres décisions mentionnées

Société Radio-Canada c. Nouveau-Brunswick (Procureur général), [1996] 3 R.C.S. 480, [1996] S.C.J. no 38, 139 D.L.R. (4th) 385, 203 N.R. 169, 182 N.B.R. (2d) 81, 110 C.C.C. (3d) 193, 2 C.R. (5th) 1, 39 C.R.R. (2d) 189, 66 A.C.W.S. (3d) 444, 32 W.C.B. (2d) 273; St. Lewis v. Rancourt, [2011] O.J. no 4392, 2011 ONSC 5923 (C.S.J.)

Règles et règlements cités

Règles de procédure civile, R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 194, alinéas 62.02(4)a)et b)

Doctrine citée

Bryant, Alan W., Sidney N. Lederman et John Sopinka, The Law of Evidence in Canada, 3e éd. (Markham, Ont. : Butterworths, 1992)

REQUÊTE en autorisation d’appel.

Richard G. Dearden, pour la demanderesse.

Denis Rancourt, pour le défendeur.

Peter K. Doody, pour l’Université d’Ottawa.

[1] Monsieur Denis Rancourt, anciennement professeur à l’Université d’Ottawa, est l’auteur d’un blogue. La demanderesse, Me Joanne St. Lewis, a intenté une action pour libelle contre lui par suite des déclarations qu’il a faites dans son blogue et dans lesquelles il a critiqué l’Université d’Ottawa.

[2] Me St. Lewis, également professeure à l’Université d’Ottawa, a préparé un rapport dans lequel elle a conclu que le traitement réservé par l’Université d’Ottawa aux étudiants de minorités visibles ne constituait pas du racisme systémique. Dans le cadre de l’action pour libelle intentée contre monsieur Rancourt, les honoraires d’avocats de Me St. Lewis sont payés par l’Université d’Ottawa. Selon monsieur Rancourt, cette pratique constitue de la champartie.

[3] Monsieur Rancourt cherche à obtenir l’autorisation d’interjeter appel de la décision du juge Beaudoin, qui, en sa qualité de juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance, lui a interdit de présenter une motion (la motion sur la publicité des instances judiciaires) visant à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits déposés dans le cadre de sa motion liée à la champartie.

[4] Dans les motifs qu’il a rendus oralement, le juge Beaudoin a refusé de permettre à monsieur Rancourt de présenter une motion visant à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits au motif que, selon lui, le principe de la publicité des instances judiciaires ne s’appliquait pas [TRADUCTION] « aux contre-interrogatoires ou aux interrogatoires préalables hors la présence du tribunal ». Le juge Beaudoin a également adopté les motifs du protonotaire MacLeod, qui en était arrivé à la même conclusion.

[5] Dans l’inscription écrite du 8 février 2012, le juge Beaudoin a conclu, au paragraphe 3, que le principe de la publicité des instances judiciaires ne s’appliquait pas aux interrogatoires préalables hors la présence du tribunal, et il a souligné que la question avait préalablement été tranchée dans l’ordonnance rendue le 6 octobre 2011 par le protonotaire MacLeod ([[2011] O.J. no 4392, 2011 ONSC 5923 (C.S.J.)]).

[6] Monsieur Rancourt fait valoir que le juge Beaudoin a commis les erreurs qui suivent.

a) Il s’est trompé et a cru, à tort, que la motion sur la publicité des instances judiciaires devait s’appliquer aux interrogatoires préalables ainsi qu’aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits. Dans sa motion, monsieur Rancourt a seulement cherché à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits.

b) Il ne possédait pas la compétence nécessaire, lors de la conférence relative à la cause, pour interdire à monsieur Rancourt de présenter sa motion sur la publicité des instances judiciaires, car il s’agissait d’une question de fond et non d’une question de procédure.

c) Monsieur Rancourt a ainsi subi un déni de justice naturelle et s’est vu privé de son droit à l’équité procédurale, étant donné qu’il n’a pas pu adéquatement présenter son argumentation au soutien de sa motion sur la publicité des instances judiciaires.

[7] Me St. Lewis et l’Université font valoir que monsieur Rancourt n’a pas satisfait aux critères pour obtenir l’autorisation d’interjeter appel. Ils font également valoir qu’il n’y a pas lieu de douter de la justesse de la décision du juge Beaudoin parce que la même question avait préalablement été tranchée par le protonotaire MacLeod, et que, par conséquent, les principes de la chose jugée (res judicata), de l’abus de procédure et de la contestation indirecte s’appliquent.

[8] Me St. Lewis fait également valoir que le principe de la chose jugée constitue une règle de preuve et non une question de fond et que, par conséquent, le juge Beaudoin avait la compétence pour appliquer la doctrine de la chose jugée dans le contexte d’une conférence relative à la cause. Me St. Lewis fait également valoir que le juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance possède la compétence inhérente nécessaire pour décider de la marche à suivre dans le contexte de l’action, notamment pour empêcher monsieur Rancourt de présenter une motion sur une question qui avait déjà été jugée, étant donné qu’aucun appel n’avait été interjeté à l’encontre de la décision du protonotaire MacLeod.

[9] Me St. Lewis fait également valoir que permettre à monsieur Rancourt de présenter une motion et de faire valoir que les membres du grand public ont le droit d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires constituerait une contestation indirecte inacceptable de l’ordonnance rendue le 6 octobre 2011 par le protonotaire MacLeod, qui s’était préalablement prononcé comme suit :

[TRADUCTION]

7. Seuls les témoins, les parties, leurs avocats et le sténographe judiciaire peuvent être présents lors des contre-interrogatoires, sauf du consentement des parties.

[10] Me St. Lewis fait enfin valoir que le juge Beaudoin a correctement appliqué la doctrine de la chose jugée, de l’abus de procédure et de la contestation indirecte et que, par conséquent, il n’y a eu aucun manquement à l’équité procédurale à l’endroit de monsieur Rancourt et aucun déni de justice naturelle.

Analyse

[11] Les critères pour obtenir l’autorisation d’interjeter appel sont énoncés aux alinéas 62.02(4)a) et b) [des Règles de procédure civile, R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 194] :

  1. un autre juge ou un autre tribunal de l’Ontario ou d’ailleurs a rendu une décision incompatible sur la question qui fait l’objet de l’appel projeté, et le juge qui entend la motion estime qu’il est souhaitable d’accorder l’autorisation;
  2. le juge qui entend la motion a des motifs de mettre en doute le bien-fondé de l’ordonnance en cause et l’appel projeté soulève des questions d’une importance telle qu’il estime souhaitable d’accorder l’autorisation.

a) Décision incompatible et opportunité d’accorder l’autorisation

[12] Monsieur Rancourt mentionne la décision rendue dans l’affaire Lower v. Stasiuk, [2006] B.C.J. no 1257, 2006 BCSC 864, au paragraphe 24, comme décision incompatible rendue par un autre juge. Dans l’affaire Lower, précitée, le juge d’office lors de la conférence relative à la cause a, dans le cadre d’une instance portant sur le droit de la famille, tranché une question de fond contestée. La décision du juge, rendue en l’absence de preuve admissible sur la question de fond – à savoir si l’une des parties avait démontré l’existence d’un changement de situation important – a été infirmée en appel.

[13] L’affaire Lower, une instance portant sur le droit de la famille, avait été instruite selon les British Columbia Family Rules [règles du droit de la famille de la Colombie-Britannique]. Le but de la conférence relative à la cause menée dans le cadre d’une instance portant sur le droit de la famille est [TRADUCTION] « de promouvoir, dans le contexte d’une audience informelle, le règlement des questions au moyen de la discussion et par voie de consentement ». Une conférence de gestion de l’instance dans le contexte d’une action civile ne partage pas le but premier poursuivi par une conférence relative à la cause menée dans le cadre d’une instance portant sur le droit de la famille, à savoir tenter de régler les questions au début du litige afin d’éviter d’autres procédures. La tenue d’une conférence relative à la cause dans le cadre d’une instance civile vise à apporter au litige en cours une gestion d’instance qui soit la plus juste et la moins coûteuse possible, et ce, en temps utile. Ainsi, je ne suis pas convaincu que monsieur Rancourt a démontré qu’un autre juge a rendu une décision incompatible.

[14] Je ne suis également pas convaincu qu’il est souhaitable d’accorder l’autorisation parce qu’il n’y a pas en l’espèce conflit de principes; il s’agit plutôt, dans le cadre d’une affaire civile, d’une décision rendue par le juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance. En interdisant à monsieur Rancourt de présenter de nouveau son argumentation au soutien d’une motion sur une question qui avait déjà été tranchée en l’espèce par le protonotaire MacLeod, le juge Beaudoin a simplement tenté de gérer et de faire avancer le litige d’une façon qui soit la plus juste et la moins coûteuse possible en temps utile.

b) Motifs de mettre en doute le bien-fondé et questions d’une importance telle qu’il est souhaitable d’accorder l’autorisation

[15] Pour les motifs qui suivent, je ne suis pas convaincu qu’il existe quelque motif de mettre en doute le bien-fondé de la décision par laquelle le juge Beaudoin a interdit à monsieur Rancourt de présenter une motion visant à permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits.

a) Bien que cette même question, entre les mêmes parties, a déjà été tranchée en l’espèce, monsieur Rancourt n’a pas interjeté appel à l’encontre de la décision du protonotaire MacLeod.

b) Le juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance peut, dans le cadre d’une affaire civile, rendre des décisions procédurales, y compris interdire à une partie de présenter une motion visant à trancher une question qui l’a déjà été. La doctrine de l’abus de procédure et celle de la contestation indirecte sur une ordonnance définitive en vigueur sont des principes de droit que peut appliquer le juge responsable de la gestion de l’instance pour faire en sorte que le litige procède d’une façon qui soit la plus juste et la moins coûteuse possible, et ce, en temps utile. La doctrine de l’abus de procédure est une doctrine qui se veut flexible, et ce, afin de permettre au tribunal d’empêcher que ses procédures soient utilisées abusivement, d’une manière qui serait manifestement injuste envers une partie, ou qui aurait pour effet de discréditer l’administration de la justice.

c)Au paragraphe 1954 du texte, The Law of Evidence [le droit de la preuve], 3e éd. (Markham, Ont. : Butterworths, 1992), par Bryant, Lederman et Sopinka, au para. 1954, l’auteur déclare que la règle de la chose jugée (res judicata) est une règle de preuve et non une règle de droit substantiel.

[TRADUCTION] Bien que l’on puisse à l’occasion se référer au principe de la chose jugée (res judicata) comme une règle de droit substantiel, il serait plus juste de dire que ce principe constitue une règle de preuve. Essentiellement, la partie contre laquelle la poursuite ou la question a été tranchée se voit précluse de présenter toute preuve visant à infirmer ce résultat.

d) Monsieur Rancourt n’a pas été privé de son droit à l’équité procédurale : il avait préalablement tenté d’obtenir du protonotaire MacLeod l’autorisation nécessaire pour permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits. Sa demande avait toutefois été refusée. Par conséquent, il n’a pas subi un déni de justice naturelle.

e) (i) Dans l’affaire criminelle R. v. Gordon, [1998] O.J. no 4043, 130 C.C.C. (3d) 129 (Div. gén.), au paragraphe 108, le juge Hill a conclu que le contre-interrogatoire sur affidavits mené devant un auditeur n’était pas assujetti au principe de la publicité des instances judiciaires.

(ii) Dans l’affaire Gordon, précitée, le juge Hill a adopté le raisonnement de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’arrêt Société Radio-Canada c. Nouveau-Brunswick (Procureur général), [1996] 3 R.C.S. 480, [1996] S.C.J. no 38, (1997), 110 C.C.C. (3d) 193.

Au paragraphe 108, le juge Hill a déclaré ce qui suit :

[TRADUCTION] […] il est possible que le principe de la publicité des instances judiciaires protégé par l’alinéa 2b) de la Charte ne s’applique pas à tous les lieux où la justice pénale est rendue; bien que ce principe ait pu depuis longue date s’appliquer directement aux tribunaux, d’autres considérations peuvent s’appliquer à des lieux qui n’ont pas, par le passé, été considérés comme des forums publics. Il serait inutile et impraticable d’imposer au bureau de l’auditeur un impératif de publicité des instances judiciaires dans le contexte du contre-interrogatoire sur affidavits déposés dans des instances criminelles. Le procès-verbal traité devant l’auditeur, c’est-à-dire l’affidavit et la transcription du contre-interrogatoire, est déposé auprès du tribunal, et celui-ci sert à l’argumentation – en audience publique – de la motion préalable au procès.

[Je souligne.]

 

(iii) Dans un certain nombre d’autres décisions faisant autorité, on a également conclu que le bureau de l’auditeur n’est pas un lieu public d’audience, notamment dans l’affaire R. v. Gordon, précitée, au paragraphe 104 :

[TRADUCTION] Les tribunaux ont à plusieurs reprises exprimé l’avis que le bureau de l’auditeur n’est pas un lieu public d’audience, et que l’auditeur peut – selon les circonstances particulières de chaque litige ou selon ce que l’auditeur croit être le meilleur moyen de servir les fins de la justice – y laisser entrer ou en exclure certaines personnes. Smith et al. v. Walnut Dairy Ltd. et al., [1945] O.W.N. 801 (le protonotaire Conant) à la p. 802 (confirmé par [1945] O.W.N. 803 (Haute Cour), à la p. 803, le juge Hope); Baywood Paper Products Ltd. v. Paymaster Cheque-Writers (Canada) Ltd. (1986), 57 O.R. (2d) 229 (Cour de district) aux pp. 233 et 239, le juge de la Cour de district Borins (tel était alors son titre); Abulnar v. Varity Corp. (1989), 70 O.R. (2d) 168 (Haute Cour) à la p. 170, le juge Henry.

(iv) J’adopte les conclusions tirées dans l’affaire R. v. Gordon, précitée, à savoir que le bureau de l’auditeur n’est pas un lieu public d’audience et que permettre aux membres du grand public d’assister aux contre-interrogatoires sur affidavits menés au bureau de l’auditeur ou au cabinet d’un avocat dans le cadre d’un litige civil entre des parties privées est inutile et impraticable.

[16] Pour les motifs qui précèdent, je conclus qu’il n’y a pas lieu de douter du bien-fondé de la décision du juge Beaudoin ni de celle du protonotaire MacLeod. Compte tenu de la conclusion que j’ai tirée sur la première partie du critère de l’alinéa 62.02(4)b), il n’y a pas lieu de traiter de la question de savoir si les questions soulevées sont d’une importance telle qu’il serait souhaitable d’accorder l’autorisation d’interjeter appel.

Décision

[17] Par conséquent, la motion présentée par monsieur Rancourt en vue d’obtenir l’autorisation d’interjeter appel de la décision du juge Beaudoin est rejetée.

[18] La demanderesse et l’Université d’Ottawa pourront me présenter de brèves observations sur les dépens dans les dix (10) jours suivants la publication des présents motifs de décision. Monsieur Rancourt disposera à son tour de dix (10) jours pour y répondre, et la demanderesse et l’Université disposeront enfin de sept (7) jours pour présenter leurs répliques.

Requête rejetée

Le juge R. Smith

 

Date de la décision : Le 9 mai 2012